Tomato Basil Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
A little oily for my taste, and I like it better cold! Still, my husband really enjoyed it and gobbled it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This recipe was excellent with fresh garden tomatoes. I rolled and sliced the basil, and added 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes to the tomato mixture. Since this was more tasty the next day, The next time I let the mixture marinade over night in the fridge, heat just to room temp, and then serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I substituted one cup of cut-up sundried tomatoes (more expensive but much more flavorful) for the fresh diced tomatoes and used LOTS of torn fresh basil leaves. Everyone LOVED the salad at the BBQ and many wanted the recipe. The leftovers were delicious for lunch the next day warmed up in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
We loved this recipe! I sauted some shrimp with onion powder and omitted the onion in the recipe (since my hubby doesn't like onion). I also used grape tomatoes halved and seasoned feta. Delicious! I will definitely make this again! We had the left overs the next night cold and it was just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
The garlic and onion were a little strong. I would have sauted them for JUST a couple of minutes before adding them to the mixture. We used goat cheese in place of feta and it was a nice change. Overall we really liked it but the garlic/onion were a little overwelming. I would double the basil but I LOVE basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Walter Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This was fantastic! Next time I will make a few changes, though. I will use green pepper in stead of tomato, saute the garlic with the basil beforehand spices and leave the onion out. I also added Calamata olives and crushed red pepper, next time I think I'll add about a teaspoon. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I took the suggestion of others and lightly sauted the onion, garlic and then the basil. I also substituted sun-dried tomatoes for regular tomatoes. It was very good and I will try again. It would work well for a picnic - a step up from the usual boring macaroni salad. Next time I think I will give regular tomatoes a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I really loved this. It was so good I could hardly stop eating! I used Trader Joe's multi-grain flax spiral pasta, and chose to sautee the onion a few minutes. I left the garlic raw, however, as I enjoy that flavor. I added a little more fresh basil and an extra tomato too. I cut down on the oil by 2 TBS, and added two splashes of red wine vinegar. I loved how the feta tasted with all the ingredients. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
We love this recipe. Even my children who are known to be picky at times gobble it right up. I use grape tomatoes halved, green onion along with white onion, probably more garlic than it calls for and add extra parmesan. I prefer it warm rather than cold, but it is good cold if you add a little red wine vinegar. Have made it for company and family and they love it too and have asked for the recipe! Now a regular side dish at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I prepared this with bowtie pasta, and since I did not have any fresh basil, I used dried.. I sauteed the onion and garlic, and only put 5 tblspoons of olive oil in it.. I thought it was very good, and my daughter (she is 6) thought it was great too! My husband did not like it at all (that is why I rated it a 4). Next time I make this (when he is out of town LOL) I will add some wine to it for just a bit more flavor.. I really liked it as is, but I think that will give it that finishing touch.. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmsweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States