Tomato Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe although I changed it up a little. I didn't have the particular brand of Tomatoes so I used normal Tomatoes. I sauteed the Garlic and added onion and red pepper. I added additional 1/2 cup of Chicken Broth and 1/4 cup of White Dry Wine with a Pinch of Oregano and the required amount of Basil. This made a lot of liquid. The rice cooked in the juices and eventually all the liquid evaporated, although the rice (brown rice) was a tiny bit crunchy so i cooked it a little longer. Next time i will probably cook the rice part way through before adding it to the pot. Thank you for a great recipe base. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was awesome! I'm a poor college student and I didn't have all the ingredients (as specified) so I improvised. Instead on using the cans, I used maybe 3 cups of tomatoes and instead of rice pilaf I used a Lipton Chicken flavored rice side. I also added a little white rice as well. I also used probably 2.5 cups water. Also, i added spices to the mix (Garlic Powder, Salt and Pepper.....). All in all, this was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Delicious, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this for a large group and everyone loved it. There weren't any leftovers. It was so simple and quick to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystallynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe was quite good - though I used my own canned tomatoes, and regular basmati rice. Also topped with shredded cheddar cheese; I really enjoyed it, and the kids ate it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Easy good recipe. I used jasmine rice instead of pilaf. I also added a half cup of chicken broth. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was pretty good! I wish I could give it 4 1/2 stars. I only had the brown rice pilaf so I had to cook it much longer and add chicken broth. I think next time, I would cover it part of the time to cook it faster. I didn't have fresh basil so I had to use dried. We'll certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I thought this was a pretty good recipe, but it lacked seasoning. I'll try it again but I'll add something to give it a little more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States