Tomato Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe was quite good - though I used my own canned tomatoes, and regular basmati rice. Also topped with shredded cheddar cheese; I really enjoyed it, and the kids ate it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe although I changed it up a little. I didn't have the particular brand of Tomatoes so I used normal Tomatoes. I sauteed the Garlic and added onion and red pepper. I added additional 1/2 cup of Chicken Broth and 1/4 cup of White Dry Wine with a Pinch of Oregano and the required amount of Basil. This made a lot of liquid. The rice cooked in the juices and eventually all the liquid evaporated, although the rice (brown rice) was a tiny bit crunchy so i cooked it a little longer. Next time i will probably cook the rice part way through before adding it to the pot. Thank you for a great recipe base. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Easy good recipe. I used jasmine rice instead of pilaf. I also added a half cup of chicken broth. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was awesome! I'm a poor college student and I didn't have all the ingredients (as specified) so I improvised. Instead on using the cans, I used maybe 3 cups of tomatoes and instead of rice pilaf I used a Lipton Chicken flavored rice side. I also added a little white rice as well. I also used probably 2.5 cups water. Also, i added spices to the mix (Garlic Powder, Salt and Pepper.....). All in all, this was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was pretty good! I wish I could give it 4 1/2 stars. I only had the brown rice pilaf so I had to cook it much longer and add chicken broth. I think next time, I would cover it part of the time to cook it faster. I didn't have fresh basil so I had to use dried. We'll certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Delicious, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I thought this was a pretty good recipe, but it lacked seasoning. I'll try it again but I'll add something to give it a little more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this for a large group and everyone loved it. There weren't any leftovers. It was so simple and quick to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystallynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States