Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
A nice thick and hearty soup. We like the consistency of this soup and the delicious flavor the barley added. I made this as written, but would have liked it even better if there was a little spice to it. Maybe by adding zesty canned diced tomatoes or a few red pepper flakes. All in all this was very good served with a thick slice of homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I like rich beef recipes, so I altered it to include beef in beef broth, but photog is right. If the recipe is enough on it's own to make my mouth water and can't wait to try it...we all have our own fine tuning...I give this a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I hate to give this recipe such a low rating because it is a good BASE. However, it had NO FLAVOR! I think if you added some spicy ground sausage and maybe used flavored diced tomatoes, it could be much better but as is, it was bland city.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I cannot even count the times that I have made this soup! My husband and I, in West Central Florida, look so forward to winter and soup weather in particular because of this recipe. It has gotten to the point that I don't even need to reference the recipe any longer because I have made it so many times. That being said, I do have to say that I add more barley than called for because husband is a confirmed "stewp" guy, so a little thicker towards the stew end of the spectrum is how he likes it! A really easy switch-up, along the line of Nancy's cabbage suggestion, is to add chopped kale when the soup is ready to serve. Just grab a bag of the prepped stuff in the produce aisle and add as much as you like. Give it a quick stir, and if you like your greens with some "tooth" left to them you are ready to go. Otherwise, you can let them soften up as much as you like which takes practically no time at all. For just a little chopping, it is soooo darn good and warms you right through. SUPERB as a "planned over" too -- nothing quite like soup the second day. On many occasions I have gotten out the BIG soup pot and made a double batch just to have a stash in the freezer. Such a great timesaver when needing something good and satisfying after a day that has left you with no desire to cook. Grab from the freeze and pop it in the microwave while you change outta the day and decompress for a little bit. I know what is on the menu tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Excellent and followed previous review to add basil, parsley and tomatoe paste, which makes it much better, or otherwise its bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Loved this!! I doubled the recipe; used homemade chicken broth and homemade stewed tomatoes; also added some thin sliced cabbage as the submitter suggested. It was even better the next day. Took some for lunch and froze some for a quick week night meal later. I will add extra barley next time as some reviewers noted. Thank you for posting a wonderful soup, Nancy Olsen. This one is a keeper for sure !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I used homemade chicken broth rather than the canned and water, and added mixed vegetables and cut up leftover chicken. Also used about 1.5 cups of leftover rice and lentil blend (Trader Joe's) rather than the barley. It made a warm, hearty supper for a cool fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Really like this recipe. Use my stick immersion blender to puree half of the soup then add it back to the broth/chunky veggies. Even better when you throw in a little sachet of jamon bouillon and some diced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Throw in some white beans, too! Such a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Made it exactly according to the recipe with the exception of the addition of more barley. Love how simple this is to prepare and wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States