Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Added meatballs to the soup. I found the tomatoes a bit acidic despite adding the other ingredients. The meatballs took down the acidity a bit. One of my girls liked it and the other not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This soup is so easy to make and soooo good!! My only modification was adding half a diced zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was wonderful. I made the recipe exactly as written except to replace most of the water with low sodium chicken broth and it was fantastic. It does not need any extra spices and I feel that adding any would change this soup completely. This soup will become a regular recipe in my home. Thank you for a great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I added more barley, but this is a great lo-cal soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Wholesome and tasty. I thought it to be a bit plain, so I added some bay leaves and some Frank's Red Hot Sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmart321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made this exactly as written except for adding a chopped small zucchini. Also, I had 2 cups of home made chicken broth in the freezer that I used, then added one cup less water. Before adding the barley, I used my immersion blender to thicken, but left some chunks. I was skeptical about the lack of seasonings, but he flavor is outstanding...hearty but healthy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great taste and texture.The barley thickens without becoming gloopy. In winter it will visit my table often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Ok recipe...followed recipe other than using olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Probably won't make again...pretty bland and "plain jane". But thanks for posting recipe! Love experimenting with new recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I just made this soup and it is wonderful. I used diced tomatoes with jalapeño for a little kick. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Barber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This recipe is good but for the summer we like a soup that is cold. I usually use canned diced tomatoes with seasoning in it. The rest of the ingrediensts come from cans, carrots sliced, cannoli beans, kidney beans, sliced potatoes, and anything else you want to put in it. I also add V8 to make it souppy and this will add more flavor. This really hits the spot when you are hungry but want something that is cold rather than hot. Allso I make bean salads this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States