Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was wonderful. I made the recipe exactly as written except to replace most of the water with low sodium chicken broth and it was fantastic. It does not need any extra spices and I feel that adding any would change this soup completely. This soup will become a regular recipe in my home. Thank you for a great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I added more barley, but this is a great lo-cal soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Wholesome and tasty. I thought it to be a bit plain, so I added some bay leaves and some Frank's Red Hot Sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmart321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made this exactly as written except for adding a chopped small zucchini. Also, I had 2 cups of home made chicken broth in the freezer that I used, then added one cup less water. Before adding the barley, I used my immersion blender to thicken, but left some chunks. I was skeptical about the lack of seasonings, but he flavor is outstanding...hearty but healthy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great taste and texture.The barley thickens without becoming gloopy. In winter it will visit my table often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Ok recipe...followed recipe other than using olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Probably won't make again...pretty bland and "plain jane". But thanks for posting recipe! Love experimenting with new recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I just made this soup and it is wonderful. I used diced tomatoes with jalapeño for a little kick. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Barber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This recipe is good but for the summer we like a soup that is cold. I usually use canned diced tomatoes with seasoning in it. The rest of the ingrediensts come from cans, carrots sliced, cannoli beans, kidney beans, sliced potatoes, and anything else you want to put in it. I also add V8 to make it souppy and this will add more flavor. This really hits the spot when you are hungry but want something that is cold rather than hot. Allso I make bean salads this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I liked it very much, but I did add greens, salt and some fresh basil and served it with homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lalindabell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My mother loves tomatoes and what a delicious way to serve them. Excellent flavor. My granddaughter is a vegetarian and used the vegetable broth. Yummy!!thank you for a great quick and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States