Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Pretty good. I followed exactly as written. I found it in desperate need of salt, which was to be expected. It had a nice, fresh light taste, but was a little too light for us. If I make again I will sub in salted butter for the vegetable oil to start with. That should help a bit to boost the flavor. I would probably also add in some parsley. Maybe replace half the broth with water and bouillon for another layer of depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Added meatballs to the soup. I found the tomatoes a bit acidic despite adding the other ingredients. The meatballs took down the acidity a bit. One of my girls liked it and the other not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This soup is so easy to make and soooo good!! My only modification was adding half a diced zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was wonderful. I made the recipe exactly as written except to replace most of the water with low sodium chicken broth and it was fantastic. It does not need any extra spices and I feel that adding any would change this soup completely. This soup will become a regular recipe in my home. Thank you for a great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I added more barley, but this is a great lo-cal soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Wholesome and tasty. I thought it to be a bit plain, so I added some bay leaves and some Frank's Red Hot Sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmart321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made this exactly as written except for adding a chopped small zucchini. Also, I had 2 cups of home made chicken broth in the freezer that I used, then added one cup less water. Before adding the barley, I used my immersion blender to thicken, but left some chunks. I was skeptical about the lack of seasonings, but he flavor is outstanding...hearty but healthy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great taste and texture.The barley thickens without becoming gloopy. In winter it will visit my table often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Ok recipe...followed recipe other than using olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Probably won't make again...pretty bland and "plain jane". But thanks for posting recipe! Love experimenting with new recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I just made this soup and it is wonderful. I used diced tomatoes with jalapeño for a little kick. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Barber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States