Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Excellent recipe as written... and if I may. To the reviewer who said it was too tomato-y... Isn't it Tomato the first name of the recipe???? And to all of those alter the recipe and then give less than 5 stars... Please stop. Write your own recipe, submit it for approval, and then let the public decide. How you can make a recipe your own, then rate the original recipe is beyond me. Please stop it. Rate the recipe as written or give it 5 stars if you alter it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ywong
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Some times I consider making a different soup, but then I remember how consistently satisfied I am after eating a bowl (even 4 times a week), so it keeps me coming back to this one. Note: I usually soak the barley in a bowl of water while chopping and sauteeing vegetables to help it cook a bit faster. This is a great recipe to bring for a winter potluck at a chilly house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
A great base recipe that you can adjust to your own preference.I agreed that it needed more seasonning. i omitted the oil and sauteed with a bit of cooking spray, then added grated zucchini, green beans, a can of tomato paste, basil, parsley, bay leaf and a touch of Mrs Dash. It turned into almost a cream based soup but really low in calories. A great healthy soup that seems decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This soup has a wonderful, mellow flavor! Prior to adding the barley, I pureed half the soup as my family doesn't care for vegetable "chunks". I also made a quadruple batch of this for a Soup Supper at church. It was a big hit. Thanks! More info 10/08: Can't tell you how many times I've made this soup and always, always get positive comments from young and old alike from simple and sophisicated palates. My advice: don't add any extra flavors such as basil. Resist the temptation! I also thought it would be good, and luckily just modified a small amount of the pot. The results made for a different soup entirely. The only thing that I've changed is to omit the water and substitute all chicken broth (low sodium is best) I do agree that drastically changing the recipe makes it hard to rate what is written for the original, however, I often find it helpful to read what others have tried, and sometimes substituted in a pinch. In my opinion, please keep sharing. That's part of why I come to allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good flavor. However, it produces a very brothy soup so if you're looking for something a bit more hearty, omit the water altogether and put 2 cups of the cooked soup in the blender, puree it and add it back ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made this with alot of changes to our tastes and it was AWESOME!!! Here is what I did I used all chicken stock (big can) 1 onion 3 cloves garlic 3 stalks celery 2 carrots 2 chopped tomatoes, 1 can tomato 15oz sauce, 1/2 cup barley I will forever be making this......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was excellent, although I did make some changes. I used 1 full cup of barley and instead of water and chicken broth, I used two 14.5oz cans of vegetable broth, added a can of stewed tomatoes, a can of cannelini beans and some shredded red cabbage! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Very nice soup. I made it exactly as written although I agree it could have used more barley - perhaps 1/3 cup. Very nice colour to the soup. The smell was wonderful while cooking. I'm at home with two sick children and the whole house smelled of "comfort". I'll definitely be enjoying this for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I added 2 cans of chicken broth, ellbow macaroni and a can of diced Mexican tomatoes. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This soup was delicious. I did add some dried basil and salt to it for a bit more flavour and also some tofu (extra protein). I substituted the celery for zucchini which was fine too. It was a great hearty soup for a winters night, and my husband loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paju, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States