Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
A nutritious soup, but needs a little help: maybe some sauteed ham as a first ingredient and a can of kidney beans or garbanzo beans. A dollop of pesto on top. Or serve with crusty baguette smeared with goat cheese. Something. Otherwise, just another healthy soup, forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The flavor of the broth in this recipe is amazing! My only complaint is that for a tomato barley soup, it did not have much barley. I doubled the barley called for in the recipe, and I still feel like it was a little light. I also added some browned hamburger to make it a heartier meal soup. Honestly though, I think the meat took away from the flavor of the soup. Next time I think I will just serve it as a side soup, and forego the meat. Oh, also added some fresh basil in the last 5 min of cooking because basil and tomatoes go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Great healthy satisfying soup! I used 1/2 c barley, added 1 tsp basil, used all chicken broth, 1 small can tomato sauce, and 2 cans diced tomatoes (didn't have fresh), and it was delicious! I also cooked it 45 minutes with the lid off of the pot, and it thickened up nicely to a stew-like consistency. I will definitely be making this again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Yummy! I added fresh basil and pinto beans. It ended up tasting sort of like a Tuscan bean soup. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was so wonderful. Follow the recipe and you'll have no problems. My boyfriend cooked this for me when I was overwhelmed with homework one night but really wanted to have this soup with him. He doesn't cook often, but he had no problem mastering this recipe. I was so proud of him!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Erin
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
After a few minor alterations I would definitely give this a "5" as it is a quick soup to make that is not too heavy, yet hearty. Basically, since I did not have two fresh tomatoes, I used a second can of diced tomatoes. After the soup simmered a bit, I added salt to taste and some dried basil to taste (probably 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp) to give it a little more flavor and "zip". Sprinkling some grated Parmesan cheese on the individual servings also gave it some extra flavor. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I really liked the final outcome of this soup, but I will admit, I did make a lot of changes based on some others' suggestions. I added 2/3 c. Pace mild salsa with the tomatoes. I used three 14 oz. cans of beef broth in place of the water and chicken broth. I also added a bit of cumin and about 1/2 tsp. chili powder. Next time I think I will also add some beef. This was very healthy, very tasty, very easy and froze wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Needs spices. Next time will make with some of the suggestions of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mans wife
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
It tastes good but needs a little somthing. Mine didn't turn out looking like the picture...the broth was thick and rich looking in the picture and mine came out close to clear. I will doctor with some tomato sauce to give it a richer taste. I will also add a little lime juice and cilantro to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Delicious and versatile. Didn't have fresh tomatoes or celery on hand, so used a can of condensed tomato soup, and added fresh spinach and thawed frozen french green beans cut into 1-inch pieces. Followed other suggestions and beefed up the spices (I used fresh parsley & dried basil). Topped with grated parmesan. Tastes like a tomato-y minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States