Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This soup was very hearty and filling but it was nothing special. It seemed like it was the "Zero Point" Weight Watchers soup with barley added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I did add a little more barley after reading some reviews and also a zucchini plus some cabbage. I had some homemade vegetable stock, so I used that instead of the water. We live in Norther Ontario and this is a wonderful, tasty soup is great in this really cold weather. Thanks so much Nancy for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Yummy soup! I used all broth instead of water, and I used one cup of barley. I also zapped the carrots in the microwave for a couple of minutes before adding them, to shorten the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skiski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Good and healthy. Put it together for a Girls Night Out (everyhone was on special diets, and this looked pretty safe). Went together quickly and everyone liked it. Used about 5 cloves of garlic (I had help and wasn't watching). I think most people liked the extra garlic. Otherwise, made it to the instructions (very rare for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This soup was wonderful and the entire house smelled delicious. I ommitted the chicken stock, didn't saute the veggies - personal preference - and I upped the spices & barley for more flavor. In addition to the ingredients, I also added cabbage and about 20 minutes before it was fully cooked I added zucchini and squash. Great for a chilly day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was pretty good but like other reviews it needs more flavor. I will make agin but add some tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was such a simple soup; I wasn't sure if it would taste bland, so I made sure to follow the recipe. I made it exactly as written, except for the fact that I have no fresh tomatoes, so I simply skipped them. The soup was still very "tomatoey" with just the can of tomatoes. I used the amount of barley it called for, and it didn't seem like enough the first day. By the second day, however, the barley had thickened and enlarged considerably, and the soup was perfect. I was surprised by how flavorful and delicious it was! I love healthy soups, and this is another winner recipe. Thanks so much for sharing...I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
A bit bland, but definitely a nice fresh-tasting soup. Mixed in some sofrito and that gave it some more flavor. I'd also use more barley next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
soup was a family favorite,good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beacon Falls, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Good soup! I added some chicken for my hubby's benefit. Used veggie broth. The only herb I added was to simmer a bay leaf in the soup. I did throw a handful of frozen chopped spinach in for the last ten minutes. That made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States