Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is a great soup for a cold winter's day! Very hearty. I made sure to cut the carrots, celery & onions very finely because I don't like huge chunks of vegetables in my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Boyfriend said it was good, he doesn't say that about much, especially soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Good recipe, I used an extra 2 teaspoons of garlic and a half cup of barely. I also added some extra juice from a can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
We enjoyed this soup. I followed the recipe pretty much as it is. I used roma tomatoes so I upped the quantity to three, and since they were store bought I added just a little pinch of sugar (xylitol actually) to make up for the lack of natural sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is wonderful soup, I make this often and take it to events where others love it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was really good. I did up the barley to 1/2 a cup. It was a very satisfying soup. I usually like more complex flavours in a soup, but this was simple in a good way- BUT I may try to jazz it up in the future because I felt it needed a little something. Tip: When I was chopping the vegetables, I ended up with a lot more celery than the other veg, but I decided to throw them in anyways. You could definitely taste the flavour imbalance, there was too much celery, so don't do what I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I absolutely hate tomatoes, but I really like this soup. I followed some raters' suggestions, and added more than the suggested amount of barley (1/3 C total, but I think next time i'll add even more), and i pureed a few cups of the soup and then returned it to the pot (just to thicken the soup a bit). Also added some celery salt, and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. Despite the lack of flavoring elements, this soup had a really robust taste just from the vegetables themselves. I added 1/2 head of small cabbage and liked the textural contrast. Every meal with this soup was great - even towards the fourth day, there was still enough liquid left with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
YUM!!! This was wonderful - even my husband, who typically doesn't like homemade soup, gobbled it up. I did add about a teaspoon of granulated garlic and a few tablespoons of Mexican-style tomato sauce to the soup, and also followed other reviewers' suggestions by pureeing some of it and adding it back in to the pot for the last 5-10 minutes. I could have eaten the whole pot by myself in one sitting. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souzan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I found this way too bland for my taste, and I'm a barley lover. I'll experiment with adding some spices, but I won't make it again as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States