Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Made it as described except I didnt have any chicken broth so I just added extra water and bouillon to make my own. It was wonderfull and my oldest son who hates soup loved this one! Thanks for a wonderfull recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Great just like it is!!! Comfort food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Amazing soup! I used 3 cups chicken broth, added some fresh spinach I had on hand, a dash of basil and a bay leaf. I pureed a quarter of the soup before adding in about 3 cups cooked pearl barley I had left over from the night before. I appreciate that I could mess with the recipe and it still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Fantastic! Nutrient dense,low-fat,high fiber and delicious all in one pot! I followed the recipe except I used vegetable stock instead of chicken broth and I added extra barley (about 2/3 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I never seem to have tomatoes on hand when I make this recipe, so I use 1 lg can diced tomatoes and 1 lg can crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was DELICIOUS made exactly according to recipe and was perfect! It will be a nice dish just to have in the frig when a little hunger pang hits. You can eat something healthy. I plan to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was so good! Easily, my most favoritest soup recipe in the universe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yum! I took suggestions from reviewers and made my own changes as well: 1 onion, 1 1/2 large carrots, 3 garlic cloves, subs olive oil for vegetable oil, no celery, 3cps chicken broth (no water), 3/4 cp barley, added zucchini and 1tbsp tomato paste and added about 1/2 bunch spinach at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I’ve made this recipe twice now. I like to make it in the crockpot (30 minutes = 2 hours on high, or 4 hours on low). The first time I added some leftover veggies such as bean sprouts, water chestnuts, and chili peppers. It was okay. The next time I basically followed the instructions (shredded carrots, vegetable broth instead of chicken, a little salt, and minus the onions because I don’t like them). It was even better. So I recommend keeping it simple. It’s different than any other soup I’ve had before. I wouldn’t call it vegetable soup, wouldn’t call it carrot soup, but I wouldn’t call it tomato soup either. I would rather eat this than any canned soup I’ve tried recently. And I usually have these ingredients in the house, so I don’t even have to shop. I’m looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
IF YOU WANT TO MAKE IT A 5 STAR YOU NEED TO ADD SOME CHARACTER TO THE SOUP. ADD, AS YOU CHOOSE, CHILI POWDER, CUMIN, GARLIC POWDER, BASIL, OR OTHER SPICES OF YOUR LIKING. YOU CAN ADD AS MUCH OR AS LITTLE OF EACH AS YOU WISH TO SUIT YOUR OWN TASTE. THESE WILL GIVE YOU DEPTH OF FLAVOR I FOUND LACKING IN THE BEGINNING. I ALSO ADDED A HALF CUP OF WHITE WINE TO ADD AN ADDITIONAL FLAVOR. GOOD SOUP BUT NEEDING A LITTLE HELP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States