Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I used homemade chicken broth rather than the canned and water, and added mixed vegetables and cut up leftover chicken. Also used about 1.5 cups of leftover rice and lentil blend (Trader Joe's) rather than the barley. It made a warm, hearty supper for a cool fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Really like this recipe. Use my stick immersion blender to puree half of the soup then add it back to the broth/chunky veggies. Even better when you throw in a little sachet of jamon bouillon and some diced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Throw in some white beans, too! Such a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Made it exactly according to the recipe with the exception of the addition of more barley. Love how simple this is to prepare and wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Excellent will be making this alot. i did puree half of the soup for smoother texture. Added fresh basil/oregano and sea salt next time may add cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Not saying it is best practices but pulled this off with some frozen veggies, a little Penzy's Forward, and it was still fantastic. A good staple recipie to modify and make your own. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
We absolutely loved this recipe. The only thing I did different was use Better than Bullion instead of the chicken broth. We really enjoyed the heartiness of this recipe--my husband (who likes his meat) thought it was such a good veggie dish that he insists I make it again!! The barley gave a nice, hearty chew to it which made him not miss meat at all. And even without adding any spices it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I give this soup a 4 only because without seasonings (sea salt, parsley and a tad of basil) it was kinna bland. We also blended our soup since it was easier for little kids to eat and we love the smooth texture. Thumbs up from the kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
this is great and all love it. I double the veggies and add a yellow pepper and a box rather than can of broth and if too thick add water that I boiled chicken in. Also use one cup of barley instead. I boil 2 chicken breast to add to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This soup is DELISH! I followed the recipe almost exactly -- didn't have veg oil so used EVOO, used veg broth for chicken since i am vegetarian, and upped the barley to 1/2 cup. it came out hearty and so yummy, and it was super easy to make. this soup is definitely going to be a staple in my house for the coming winter. highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States