Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
First of all, message to photog.... RIGHT ON! I give this a 5 star even tho I did change a few things (chagrin chagrin) because I wasn't paying attention. I did NOT change any of the ingredients, I just boo booed with the quantities. You just can't miss with the flavour base of onions, celery and carrots. I had accidently frozen 3 fresh tomatoes (don't ask)and needed to use them. I didn't look at the can and it was 28 oz not 14. So I did not add water at all, but used home made chicken broth, at least 48 oz and maybe more. Plus, because I don't highly salt my broth I did add a bit more salt (canned chicken broth can be pretty salty). I also ended up adding an extra 1/4 cup barley (did I mention I love barley in soup?) Thank you Nancy, it's perfectly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I thought the recipe as written was bland, but a good base to add to. I sauted garlic and sausage meat and added that to the soup along with some grated cheese. I may try it again and use beef pieces to make a beef barley soup.Four stars for a good "base" soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Gearity Bory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was very tasty. I added twice the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Excellent recipe as written... and if I may. To the reviewer who said it was too tomato-y... Isn't it Tomato the first name of the recipe???? And to all of those alter the recipe and then give less than 5 stars... Please stop. Write your own recipe, submit it for approval, and then let the public decide. How you can make a recipe your own, then rate the original recipe is beyond me. Please stop it. Rate the recipe as written or give it 5 stars if you alter it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is really good. I did add a bay leaf, upped the chicken broth to 2 cups, and a tsp. of Kosher salt. Other than than I kept the recipe as is. It is very healthy and filling. It will be repeated again and again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This turned out to be a great soup, after making some changes/additions. I was short on time so I cooked the barley separately (quick cooking) and added it right before serving. I used between 1/2 and 3/4 cup uncooked. I didn't use any water, just 2 cans of chicken broth. I added about 1 tsp. basil (the frozen from Trader Joes is better than dried), 4 or 5 shakes of chili powder and salt and pepper to taste. In addition, I used 1/2 small can of tomato paste. I wanted a thick, not broth based soup, so I pureed about 3/4 of the soup, just leaving some tomato and onion chunks. Before serving, a added about 1/2 bag of frozen, chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Little bit of salt and EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Just too tomato-y Felt it overwhelmed the vegetables Have better barley vegetable soup recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe was ok. A little bland for my taste so I added extra salt and a teaspoon or so of basil. I plan to add a little chili powder now as another reviewer suggested. Hopefully that will fix it or I'll probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Great base for "extra room" to play with, I minced my vegetables and added beef broth, diced pieces of leftover round steak and rice ( didn't have barley) I did take the advice of others and added some basil and kosher salt. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 141-150 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States