Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was very tasty. I added twice the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Excellent recipe as written... and if I may. To the reviewer who said it was too tomato-y... Isn't it Tomato the first name of the recipe???? And to all of those alter the recipe and then give less than 5 stars... Please stop. Write your own recipe, submit it for approval, and then let the public decide. How you can make a recipe your own, then rate the original recipe is beyond me. Please stop it. Rate the recipe as written or give it 5 stars if you alter it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is really good. I did add a bay leaf, upped the chicken broth to 2 cups, and a tsp. of Kosher salt. Other than than I kept the recipe as is. It is very healthy and filling. It will be repeated again and again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This turned out to be a great soup, after making some changes/additions. I was short on time so I cooked the barley separately (quick cooking) and added it right before serving. I used between 1/2 and 3/4 cup uncooked. I didn't use any water, just 2 cans of chicken broth. I added about 1 tsp. basil (the frozen from Trader Joes is better than dried), 4 or 5 shakes of chili powder and salt and pepper to taste. In addition, I used 1/2 small can of tomato paste. I wanted a thick, not broth based soup, so I pureed about 3/4 of the soup, just leaving some tomato and onion chunks. Before serving, a added about 1/2 bag of frozen, chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Little bit of salt and EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Just too tomato-y Felt it overwhelmed the vegetables Have better barley vegetable soup recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe was ok. A little bland for my taste so I added extra salt and a teaspoon or so of basil. I plan to add a little chili powder now as another reviewer suggested. Hopefully that will fix it or I'll probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Great base for "extra room" to play with, I minced my vegetables and added beef broth, diced pieces of leftover round steak and rice ( didn't have barley) I did take the advice of others and added some basil and kosher salt. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DottieS

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I added 2 cans of chicken broth, ellbow macaroni and a can of diced Mexican tomatoes. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
A great base recipe that you can adjust to your own preference.I agreed that it needed more seasonning. i omitted the oil and sauteed with a bit of cooking spray, then added grated zucchini, green beans, a can of tomato paste, basil, parsley, bay leaf and a touch of Mrs Dash. It turned into almost a cream based soup but really low in calories. A great healthy soup that seems decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States