Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
When eating this my only thought was what did i leave out. This is a basic stock looking for some help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hiway61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This soup was average. I thought it needed some more ingredients. I took the soup & ran it thru a blender to puree it & then I added cheese tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I thought it needed a little more seasoning to make it interesting. I also added some ground beef to make it a full meal soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Being a bit of a soup novice this one was fantastic! It was easy to make, and used ingredients I had already. I will definately be making it again, though I think next time I'll be throwing in some chicken for a bit of protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
OK,this is from an Englishman who REALLY loves soup and I have to say this is one of the best.Just a few changes, I added a handfull of pasta twists used garlic salt instead of a clove and just a splash of olive oil seved it with a sprikle of parmesan and wholemeal bread .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARLES LIPPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Excellent!!! Except for stock, we never make soup. We followed the receipe exactly but we added some cooked polish sausage. We sliced it into about 2 inch pieces and put it in as we turned the soup down to a simmer. My wife and I ate it with sourdough bread and loved it. The receipe was enough for anbother meal. It is in the freezer for another day. Thanks, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My husband and I really liked this soup. However, I used two large cans of diced tomatoes, and instead of fresh tomatoes, I used two cans of stewed tomatoes one of which was Italian flavored, a pinch of red pepper flakes and 1 Tbsp chicken boullion instead of broth. I didn't add extra water as I didn't cook the barley in the soup. In fact I put some of soup in a blender to thicken and I got the consistancy I wanted. I then divided the amount to be used as two seperate dishes. One I added boiled potatoes to since I didn't have any rice or barley on hand, and the second I actually added the barley to on another day. Great low cal soup, and it was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this soup on a Saturday..adding the cabbage as suggested by another food lover. Sunday I became ill. This is the best soup and saved me as I struggled through the next 2 days !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I got so many compliments on this recipe. It's perfect for a cold winter day meal. The only things I did differently was to add more barley,a can of corn, a pound of ground sausage and some cumin & garlic powder. You'll be lucky to have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
As others have written, this is a decent base recipe. We added additional vegetables & herbs (basil & fresh parsley) along w/ straight chicken stock (no water). It’s okay but most likely won’t make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States