Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I add mushrooms to the soup. Adds more texture and flavour. Aggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Well this soup was good and very healthy. Unfortunately, I'm not experienced with cooking barley, and after eating it I realized that I should've cooked it longer than the 40 minutes, as my barley seeds didn't open up, as I think the picture of the soup shows. I added just a little bit more seasoning, but I felt that the soup could've had a little more taste. Oh well, I would try it again, especially for when one needs an immune boost. This seems very healthy - which was nice for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This is my first review. This has almost no flavor. I usually love soups, and so does my 5yr old son, but no one would eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS ON A COLD WINTERS DAY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Excellent soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Good, but nothing exceptional as is. It reminds me of a base recipe for minestrone or vegetable soup. Will make again, but how I usually do. You should use the Italian tomatoes in the soup for more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Excellent soup! Add a can of chick peas to get a complete protein. No need to use vegetable broth. Substitute water and the flavors will blend together very nicely. This also happens to be the kind of recipe that helps you use up whatever soup-friendly veggies happen to be languishing in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Great recipe! Tasty and light consistency. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I only gave 3 stars because I found it very bland after following the recipe almost exactly. The only thing I did different was to add course salt and pepper to the vegetables as they were sauteing. After tasting the soup and realizing it needed something more I added basil, oregano, thyme and margoram. I also pureed half of the soup to thicken it up a bit. With those changes it tasted better, but I think next time I might add a can of V8 juice to add even more flavor and omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prudenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hatfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
As suggested by another reviewer, I used a large can of seasoned, diced tomatoes and omitted the water. An excellent, easy recipe that's a keeper with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 111-120 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States