Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I only gave 3 stars because I found it very bland after following the recipe almost exactly. The only thing I did different was to add course salt and pepper to the vegetables as they were sauteing. After tasting the soup and realizing it needed something more I added basil, oregano, thyme and margoram. I also pureed half of the soup to thicken it up a bit. With those changes it tasted better, but I think next time I might add a can of V8 juice to add even more flavor and omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prudenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hatfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
As suggested by another reviewer, I used a large can of seasoned, diced tomatoes and omitted the water. An excellent, easy recipe that's a keeper with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This receipe was tasty. Made it with a few Changes. I used 1 Large can of Diced tomatoes that was seasoned with Onion, Garlic and Basil.Then I sauteed the onions and celery and minced garlic in olive oil. I cooked the sliced carrots in Microwave til about done;then added the diced flavored tomatoes and chicken broth. I omitted the water. My husband loved it. I doubled the receipe next day and made more. Delicious! This is a keeper. Barb-B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I must admit while I was cooking this I was pretty certain I was throwing it out. I couldn't stand the smell. Well, with that said I tasted anyway after everyone's rave reviews. It's wonderful. My husband ate it with grilled cheese & said it was a nice change of pace. You can add any protein you want to leave it as is. IT'S ALL GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I loved thos recipe but added more barley and used celery salt instead of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This soup was excellent. I added 1/3 cup more of the barley and some dried basil, more pepper and some kosher salt. Topped it off with freshly grated romano cheese. We couldn't stop eating it. It was so delicious and healthy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Pretty good soup but I added some chopped left over roast beef,made it even better.If you try this don't forget to add salt,if I hadn't added any,this soup would've been really bland.I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made this with alot of changes to our tastes and it was AWESOME!!! Here is what I did I used all chicken stock (big can) 1 onion 3 cloves garlic 3 stalks celery 2 carrots 2 chopped tomatoes, 1 can tomato 15oz sauce, 1/2 cup barley I will forever be making this......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I added broccoli for more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States