Tomato Bacon Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I took this one step further and stirred a little garlic powder into the butter and spread that on the bread. I also used Sargento deli sliced sharp cheddar cheese. We loved this. My oldest boy actually ate two. Next time, I'll try this with deli sliced ham or turkey. I think that would be good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Simply delicious! I had some leftover bacon that was already cooked so this was a great was to use it up. This was perfect for lunch with some tomato soup - especially since it's such a gloomy, rainy day today....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
We have grilled cheese (GCs) at least 3 or 4 times a month, and I've added tomato before but never thought about adding bacon. I used some thick sliced bacon that I had baked with brown sugar sprinkled over the top. I spread a little mayonnaise on the bread, added cojack cheese, tomato slices and the salty/sweet bacon, then grilled it with butter. It was almost like a bacon cheeseburger--delicious--thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I love these. It may be a kid recipe but it is a quick balanced meal for grownups too. One reviewer commented about thinking they needed twice the bacon and cheese. For an adult I always serve 2 single slices of bread with the cheese tomato and bacon on each slice, made open face under the broiler. No butter is used. The bread gets toasted around the edges but not much on the bottoms (I like this texture) and you get twice the bacon and cheese. The tomato tends to get juicy when cooked so I use a fork. Also, when I do make bacon I cook the whole pound and freeze the extra slices in a freezer bag. (If any survive that long!) They do not stick to each other frozen. Remove as many strips as you need. It's pre-cooked and they reheat and crisp up as you broil. I especially love this sandwich when ripe tomatoes are in season. White American slices are my preferred cheese. Broil until the cheese starts to melt and brown a little, where exposed. The bacon on top will also begin to show blackened high spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Thanks for posting this recipe. It inspired me to really expand the "grilled cheese & soup" meal that I fall back on when short on time. Last night we added onion, avacado, turkey, spinach and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hils

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I made this wonderful sandwich with lite mayo instead of butter. I served it with tomato basil soup and the hubby was in heaven. He said he has never had a grilled cheese sandwich that tasted so good. I also used colby,cheddar and monterey jack cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I just made one change when I made these. I used Pepper Jack cheese. I always have to make my husband and sons 2 of these sandwiches. They won't settle for plain grilled cheese again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I craved this non-stop during my pregnancy. It seems like an odd combo, but is very yummy. I even got my hubby hooked on these. So needless to say, we still make these for a quick dinner, even though I'm not pregnant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twins4Us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Made this with turkey bacon for a little healthier sandwich and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
A favorite of mine growing up and still one!!! I use deli sliced cheese instead of the american slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States