Tomato Bacon Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Good sandwich....ummmmm, bacon! I followed this recipe to a T, I don't know why. I got center cut bacon, fresh ripe tomato at the farmers' market, and then used american cheese. This recipe is calling out for a good sharp cheddar in my opinion. It was good enough with american, but I think cheddar would really make this terrific. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This is great. I used whole wheat bread, center cut bacon, and sharp cheese, and no butter. I put a very thin layer of light mayo inside the sandwich, and bake them in the oven at 400 degrees for 9 minutes. So good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Who would of thought that adding bacon and tomato would turn out so wonderful?! This will be a regular dinner at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I love these. It may be a kid recipe but it is a quick balanced meal for grownups too. One reviewer commented about thinking they needed twice the bacon and cheese. For an adult I always serve 2 single slices of bread with the cheese tomato and bacon on each slice, made open face under the broiler. No butter is used. The bread gets toasted around the edges but not much on the bottoms (I like this texture) and you get twice the bacon and cheese. The tomato tends to get juicy when cooked so I use a fork. Also, when I do make bacon I cook the whole pound and freeze the extra slices in a freezer bag. (If any survive that long!) They do not stick to each other frozen. Remove as many strips as you need. It's pre-cooked and they reheat and crisp up as you broil. I especially love this sandwich when ripe tomatoes are in season. White American slices are my preferred cheese. Broil until the cheese starts to melt and brown a little, where exposed. The bacon on top will also begin to show blackened high spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
We have grilled cheese (GCs) at least 3 or 4 times a month, and I've added tomato before but never thought about adding bacon. I used some thick sliced bacon that I had baked with brown sugar sprinkled over the top. I spread a little mayonnaise on the bread, added cojack cheese, tomato slices and the salty/sweet bacon, then grilled it with butter. It was almost like a bacon cheeseburger--delicious--thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Mmmmm! I am ashamed to admit that I used some of the bacon grease instead of butter... but the sandwiches tasted absolutely delicious! This is definitely not something I would make every week, but it's a great for a little treat every now and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Really good. I used Velveeta cheese slices and Jimmy Dean Hickory Smoked (pre-cooked) bacon. I actually cooked the bacon on a flat griddle for 5-7 minutes to get it nice and crispy. This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonesouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I think that the ingredient amounts are off. For 4 sandwiches I use at least 3 slices of bacon each and 2 slices of cheese each. So, for 4 sandwiches, I would use 12 slices of bacon, and 8 slices of cheese. Also, I cook the bacon in the microwave to save time. To make a dinner meal serve with soup. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I was trying to think of something to cook for my two girls and I found this recipe. It was very good. I loved the taste and it gives grilled cheese sandwiches a different twist. Will make this again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
So easy and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States