Tomato Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I had no-fat sour cream on hand, so substituted that for low-fat sour cream. I also used low-fat Parmesan cheese and whole wheat pasta. The changes I made will make this healthy recipe even more healthy. I thought the flavor was decent, but slightly bland, though I salted it more than seemed reasonable. Too, it was a little too dry for my preference, even though I reduced the pasta from 16 to 12 ounces. I added some milk and tomato sauce to thin the sauce a bit, and I'm one that likes thick sauce. It was just TOO thick without modifications. Ease and speed of preparation, and heart healthy are the best characteristics of this recipe. I will prepare it again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I know I know - I really shouldn't rate this 5 star because I added things....but I had never thought of making a sauce with diced tomatoes and sour cream before - so this in itself makes it 5 star! I added - 2 cloves garlic and a tablespoon or so of Italian Seasoning. Served it with some grilled steak and garlic bread. What a delicious fresh meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This one ia a winner on all counts. It's quick, light, and healthy with great flavor and tastes much richer than it is. Try using a 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes with roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BSGfood
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This meal was to die for! it is light, creamy and super tasty. both my daughters loved it! it was fast, easy and pretty. i recommend putting in alot more peas. it will taste better and look better as well. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSGfood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Delicious! I didn't find this bland at all, though I used tomatoes with garlic, oregano and basil. I never thought to simply use sour cream as a sauce, but it was fabulous! I love sour cream, though. Might not be for everyone, but for me it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is fast, easy and we love it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This is really good. Although I did not understand what juice I was supposed to use. The last step said to use the remaining juice, but there was no juice in the recipie. But it still turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Danielsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
My husband I both loved this recipe! I'm not a fan of traditional alfredo sauce, don't know why, but this was really good. I made it as the recipe stated and it was perfect. We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Etna Green, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I liked the recipe as it was, sauce was a light alfredo. Next time, I will decrease the pasta from 1 pound to 12 ounces or so. The sauce didn't seem to go far enought for the entire pound. I did add some flat leaf parsley as a garnish since I had some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This was pretty good--I changed the following: -used Italian-style diced tomatoes -used 1 (whole) bag frozen Italian-style vegetables instead of peas to pump up the vitamins -added 1 can of tomato sauce -added a pinch of crushed red pepper Kids ages 6 and 8 really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States