Tomato Alfredo Sauce with Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was a great basic sauce but I did make a few changes that people might like: put a tbsp. of olive oil in a pan and saute 1-2 cloves of garlic until brown, add onions and saute until translucent. Then add mushrooms ( I added 2 cups), a small can of olives, chopped artichokes, and basil. I then added the flour and milk until sauce thickened. Then I added 2 cups of tomatoes (b/c I love them) and 1 tbsp. of italian herbs and 1 tbsp. of parmasean cheese. I served with angel hair and foccacia bread. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I like to add a little more sauciness than what this recipe calls for, by using grated parmesan in conjunction with the flour, and adding extra milk. This makes for a thicker, richer sauce that coats all the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I pureed all the vegetables in my processor because I like a smoother sauce. After pureeing, I simmered the sauce on the stove and added a little fat free evaporated milk. I didn't need any flour at all. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sullivan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Have to give it 5 stars when it tastes this good and is this easy. I used marinated artichokes (which I think are packed in water with some oil and spices), and it tasted great. I went for the route of cooking up some garlic/onion in olive oil before making the sauce. Also added dried basil (no fresh) and a bit of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe! Instead of the 2 tomatoes, which I don't always have on hand, I use a can of diced tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This is a great recipe. I have fixed it twice. My family loves it. The first time I fixed it according to recipe, and the second time I included some cubed chicken breast. It is great both ways. Thanks Holly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I thought this was quite tasty. I used different vegetables only because I used what I had on hand (onions, roasted red peppers, zucchini and tomatoes), but followed the recipe for the most part. I really liked it and thought it was a good change from standard pasta and not as fattening as some alfredo sauces are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
As others have mentioned, it's not really alfredo, but it's still really good. I omitted the flour and used heavy cream instead of milk and added minced fresh garlic and some sweet red pepper. This is a nice quick way to serve pasta. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
It is different from what I normally make, but it is a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made all sorts of changes to this recipe, but it turned out fantastic! I sauteed the onions beforehand, then sprinkled them with basil because I didn't have fresh. I used marinated canned artichokes. I then added the milk and flour. I used a can of diced tomatoes. Then added garlic salt and parmesan cheese and it turned out great. Let it simmer for about 7 minutes so the flavors blended and served over pasta with a side of baked chicken. A great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States