Tomato Alfredo Sauce with Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Wouldn't really call it alfredo, but I'd call it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Not bad. Next time instead of adding the artichoke water I will add white wine. I did cook the onion first cause that is what I am used to...not really an alfredo sauce, but looking foward to the wine addition. It was lacking a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I pureed all the vegetables in my processor because I like a smoother sauce. After pureeing, I simmered the sauce on the stove and added a little fat free evaporated milk. I didn't need any flour at all. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sullivan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
My husband and I didn't like it. It was bland and just not good at all, will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Strasburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was a great basic sauce but I did make a few changes that people might like: put a tbsp. of olive oil in a pan and saute 1-2 cloves of garlic until brown, add onions and saute until translucent. Then add mushrooms ( I added 2 cups), a small can of olives, chopped artichokes, and basil. I then added the flour and milk until sauce thickened. Then I added 2 cups of tomatoes (b/c I love them) and 1 tbsp. of italian herbs and 1 tbsp. of parmasean cheese. I served with angel hair and foccacia bread. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe! Instead of the 2 tomatoes, which I don't always have on hand, I use a can of diced tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I don't even like alfredo sauce, but this is great! Probably because it's not creamy like you would think. It's light and flavorful...but definitely room for personaliztion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This recipe is a good step in the right direction, but needed more oomph. I started by sauteeing the onion and a couple of cloves of garlic, then adding in the artichokes, milk, flour, etc. After adding the rest of the ingredients I tossed in some crushed red pepper. A good basic sauce on which to build!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I used fat free evaporated milk instead of the whole milk, works well. I love veggies also so I added green and red peppers also!! I put this sauce over spaghetti squash and it was great!! Very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Luuuuuuv this recipe. It's so easy to make and quick. Deelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States