Tomato Alfredo Sauce with Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Wouldn't really call it alfredo, but I'd call it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Not bad. Next time instead of adding the artichoke water I will add white wine. I did cook the onion first cause that is what I am used to...not really an alfredo sauce, but looking foward to the wine addition. It was lacking a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I pureed all the vegetables in my processor because I like a smoother sauce. After pureeing, I simmered the sauce on the stove and added a little fat free evaporated milk. I didn't need any flour at all. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sullivan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
My husband and I didn't like it. It was bland and just not good at all, will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Strasburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was a great basic sauce but I did make a few changes that people might like: put a tbsp. of olive oil in a pan and saute 1-2 cloves of garlic until brown, add onions and saute until translucent. Then add mushrooms ( I added 2 cups), a small can of olives, chopped artichokes, and basil. I then added the flour and milk until sauce thickened. Then I added 2 cups of tomatoes (b/c I love them) and 1 tbsp. of italian herbs and 1 tbsp. of parmasean cheese. I served with angel hair and foccacia bread. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe! Instead of the 2 tomatoes, which I don't always have on hand, I use a can of diced tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I don't even like alfredo sauce, but this is great! Probably because it's not creamy like you would think. It's light and flavorful...but definitely room for personaliztion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This recipe is a good step in the right direction, but needed more oomph. I started by sauteeing the onion and a couple of cloves of garlic, then adding in the artichokes, milk, flour, etc. After adding the rest of the ingredients I tossed in some crushed red pepper. A good basic sauce on which to build!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I used fat free evaporated milk instead of the whole milk, works well. I love veggies also so I added green and red peppers also!! I put this sauce over spaghetti squash and it was great!! Very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Luuuuuuv this recipe. It's so easy to make and quick. Deelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States