Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I consider this a good base for a soup, but some ideas to improve. Jazz it up using home made broth. Rub the jalapeno and thickly sliced tomatillos with oil, grill for a few minutes hot, using wood chips to smoke (adds flavor), removing skin and seeds of jalapeno afterwards, add 1 goya ancho chile with sauce (they come in a can), skip the hot sauce. Once all is blended as recipe indicates and returned to pot, add 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp. chile powder. Add 1c brown rice, simmer till almost done. sprinke Wondra while stirring to thicken broth. Then add 1c frozen corn, 1 can black beans drained, chopped chicken meat, juice of 1/2 lime. when corn is close to done, add chopped zuccini, 1/2 cup chopped scallion, turn off heat and cover. stir in 10, serve in another 10. Garnish with more cilantro, lime wedge, scallion, avocado, tortilla chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
We don't have tomatillos in my country. Instead I used green tomatoes. I added some mushrooms that I had and put avocado pieces in the plate before serving the soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGNACIO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was my first time trying tomatillo. I loved this soup. I like a little body to my soup so I added 2 cans of drained black beans, one potato and a can of corn. I also used double the amount of tomatillo. Next time I think I will add a little more chicken as well. For a light soup this would be good just as the recipe is written. I did a search to find out how to pick out the best tomatillo and the article said the smaller ones are less sour. I did use mostly the smaller ones and found my soup to have just the right tang. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe is beautiful and bright. Perfect for a dreary evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Loved this recipe. Fit in well for the end of summer. I made it & rated it as directed. Only true way to give a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Possibly the best recipe I've found on the site. I left the jalepeno seeds in for an extra kick and it was absolutely delicious. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very good soup, my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was a good basic for this soup. I liked it but the rest of the family didn't enjoy it as much. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Though a little bit involved, this soup is absolutely amazing and my favorite soup to make during the cold winter season. I do recommend using a few extra tomatillos so that the soup is thicker and if you like spicy, then some extra seasoning is needed as well (depends on the jalepenos). I also recommend adding extra garlic and some cumin. The most important part of this recipe is the pureeing so don't skip it! extra cilantro is also a nice addition and very necessary for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was a very good soup, easy to make and delicious. Great for cold weather too! I used an extra 1/4 pound of tomatillos because I did not know what else to do with them, and I added some corn. The puréed tomatllos thickened the broth nicely. Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States