Tomatillo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Loved this recipe. Fit in well for the end of summer. I made it & rated it as directed. Only true way to give a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Possibly the best recipe I've found on the site. I left the jalepeno seeds in for an extra kick and it was absolutely delicious. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very good soup, my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was a good basic for this soup. I liked it but the rest of the family didn't enjoy it as much. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Though a little bit involved, this soup is absolutely amazing and my favorite soup to make during the cold winter season. I do recommend using a few extra tomatillos so that the soup is thicker and if you like spicy, then some extra seasoning is needed as well (depends on the jalepenos). I also recommend adding extra garlic and some cumin. The most important part of this recipe is the pureeing so don't skip it! extra cilantro is also a nice addition and very necessary for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was a very good soup, easy to make and delicious. Great for cold weather too! I used an extra 1/4 pound of tomatillos because I did not know what else to do with them, and I added some corn. The puréed tomatllos thickened the broth nicely. Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I happened upon a box of tomatillos at the local donation shelter... the ladies there had no idea what they were or what to do with them. So I took the whole box home and found this recipe, and let me tell you WOW! The only reason I am not giving it five stars is because the recipe needs tweaking to make it perfect. Once you make the changes, I would pay $10 for a bowl of this in a restaurant. I followed the other reviewer's suggestions and used slightly more tomatillos than the recipe calls for, maybe a pound and a half or so. I also used chicken boullion instead of chicken broth. After pureeing the base, I added a can of corn and a can of drained rinsed black beans, as well as a tsp of cumin. The result was fantastic! Whatever you do, do NOT skip the cilanto (it adds a note of citrus and brightens up the flavor) or the sour cream (it adds a touch more acidity and a bit of creaminess to the texture). The only thing I would change is to add maybe a splash of fresh lime juice, other than that after making the modifications listed above the recipe is spot on. I served this to my family with homemade southwest egg rolls, and they couldn't stop eating it. It was so good, I even made a batch to take down to the donation shelter to share with the workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
The flavor is just wonderful. Kind of like a sweet and sour with a bit of a kick to it. I have actually never made anything with tomatillos and found this recipe because a friend gave me a bagful from her garden (she did not know what to do with them either!). I just dumped everything in my crockpot for several hours, took a bit out and pureed it. Then i added a bag of frozen corn. I will totally make this again... yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livesimplecolorado
Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I made this recipe in the crock pot as suggested by Erin (put everything in the crock pot and cooked on low for 6 hours). After blending everything but the chicken (which I shredded), I put all the ingredients back in the crock pot and added a can of corn and pinto beans and heated for another 30 min ~ we served it with chips and fresh avocado. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Turned out good but thin as others said. I added a Masa Harina paste (1/2 cup Masa Harina mixed with 1/2 cup water) that thickened it up, and also added two ears' worth of grilled corn, and was very happy with the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States