Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
this is a fantastic salsa. i did change and add a few things. i cooked a 2lb recipe for 8. i have learned over the years a few things about cooked blender recipes. i put all the ingredients in a blender first and blended it all together. and then cooked the recipe for about 15 min. if you do it this way you do not have to add any water, it makes it's own juices, and comes out just right, not to thick and not to thin (trust me) i did add 2 poblano chile's insted of the other. and i added the juice of 1 lime(really makes a difference)i did add 2 chicken bouillion cubes while cooking, it came out the best fresh salsa that i have had in a long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
757 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I make my own salsa with my tomatoes and can it. I made this to can and changed the water to vinegar. It turned out great. I made enough to can 9 pints. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I took Judy's advice and added 1/4 c. of lime juice and Ann's advice about using vinegar instead of water so I could home can this. I used 1 cup of vinegar and it was a little too thin but the flavor is incredible. I'll use less vinegar next time or increase the rest of the ingredients so it will be a little thicker. Really flavorful! I'm going to make a pot of Terry's Texas Pinto Beans (on this site) to try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Great way to use the 5 pounds of tomatillos that a friend dropped off. I subbed cilantro for oregano and added lime juice and a few cherry tomatoes. Wanted to suit our family's tastes as well as use up some stuff in the house. EDIT for FREEZING: I froze 2 quart-sized containers of the salsa and thawed one out the other day. The taste was so fresh. We ate some as is and then mixed with some fresh (red) salsa I had made for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This blew me away! Never had such good salsa verde and who would have thought it would come from my own kitchen, using tomatillos, peppers and oregano fresh from my own garden? I added a little more of the peppers (I used jalapeno) and a little less water, then simmered until it was not only tender, but the consistency I wanted. It was just a tad hot for me, as I included the seeds and membranes of the peppers, but after the first few bites my tongue and throat got used to it! I'm sure others would find it to have just the right heat. Excellent! (And all gone...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I loved the taste, but I found the texture a bit watery for my taste. Instead of boiling I opted to roast the tomatillos, pepper, and garlic in the oven. Then I mixed everything together in the blender, substituting the juice of half a lime for water. Roasting the tomatillos helped thicken the salsa a bit, and really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zavesky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was soo easy and sooo good! I confess I put 1/2 lime juice in it. GREAT with corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinson, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
We love using our garden grown tomatillos in this recipe. Great as a sauce to put over chicken! It also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was VERY good. I made this as written except I added another serrano- we like ours a little spicier. Once it was blended it ended up a little too watery for me. We like to use our salsa as a dip for tortillas so I coursely chopped 1 cup of Red Onion and a 1/2 cup Cilantro to give it some weight. I will make this again. Without the modifications to suit our needs it was a 5- the flavor is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Made this today. I turned out great I didn't change a thing. I did blend it right in the pan with an immersion blender. Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETCOOKINAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States