Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I just used this for a basic recipe and didn't pay close attention to measurements and left a few spices out and it still came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I could just eat it with a spoon! While I did cook the tomatillos in the said amount of water, I drained a little off before I used my immersion blender to mix it. I did add some vinegar, about 2 TBS, and I added jc of 1 lime at the end, because I love that acidity. Man, with some warmed-up tortilla chips, just stay away from me and my bowl! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Really good, but this is WAY too watery!!! It's more like an enchilada sauce than a salsa. I should have looked up some of the reviews before making this. Next time I will omit the water as many of the reviewers suggested. Otherwise, great flavor and really easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This Salsa is wonderful! I use it on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Fabulous recipe and so easy! The cumin and oregano give it a nice added bit of flavor. I like to add just a little bit of sugar to balance out the acid and tangy taste of the tomatillos and also omitted the water since the cooked tomatillos provide enough of their own juice. Other than that, this is by far the best green salsa recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My changes: I roasted the tomatillos and blended them with the peppers, onions and garlic. Didn't add water. In my opinion, boiling the onions mellows them too much. Plus I add the cilantro at the very end, instead of boiling the cilantro in the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This might be the best green salsa I've ever had. I halved the recipe. . I put everything in the blender first as suggested. Substituted 1 jalapeño for the Serrano. Omitted the water. Then simmered for 15 minutes. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I roasted my tomatillos, onions and garlic in a drizzle of olive oil until very tender. Why boil??? Also did not add any water....this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
made with reviewers recommendations...very good..blended first without water then cooked. Added a little bit of water to reach my desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Way too much water...I mixed mine with raw blended tomatillos and fresh cilantro. Adding whipping cream was a wonderful addition. Yummy on Halibut enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States