Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
i definitely wouldn't have added the water. best advice: blend first, then it'll have perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I just made a huge batch of this with fresh tomatillos out of my garden. While I did throw in a bunch of other stuff that needed to get used (reg. tomatoes, grape tomatoes, jalapenos and poblanos) I didn't add any water and it came out to the perfect consistency and tasted great. I also cooled it down and tossed in the cilantro right before I blended so it had a nice bright flavor. I would not add any water until you cook your tomatillos down and see how thick or thin yours is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This was by far the very best enchilada sauce I've ever had. Like some of the other people I choose to omit the water and purée everything first, cook it and then purée it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Divine! I chopped everything very fine and put it in the saucepan without water as suggested by others. I didn't blend it afterwards and it was great. I had heard of tomatillos but never saw them until a visit to our local farmers market last week. I only got enough to make half this recipe and it went pretty quick. Also added the juice of half a lime. I ate it all with tortilla scoops with a dab of sour cream. Scrumptious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
We loved this salsa, I did use Chicken broth for this instead of water, I thought this might be a little thin if I blended it with the liquid, so I just scooped it all out and blended it without the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I halved the recipe and use 2 serranos. The end product was pretty darn tasty. Will, most def, make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I had no tamatillos and uses green tomatoes. The result was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGNACIO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Used half as much water and added juice of one lime. Next time I will use even less water. Tasted awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is fantastic, though for some reason mine came out very thin - i may have accidentally added too much water? The flavor is amazing, and it is very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States