Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
We really liked this! I didn't add any water. I quartered the tomatillos and threw them in the food processor with the onion, garlic, cilantro and a jalapeño. Then I put it in the pan, added the rest of the ingredients, brought it to a boil and then let it summer for 15 minutes. There was plenty of liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I used fresh cilantro instead of cumin and snagged some fresh oregano from the garden. Also, a squeeze of lime. About 1 Tbs, I guess. No water. Great, fresh flavor! And so easy, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gumby
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I read the reviews and mixed it up. Roasted the peppers and pepper. Then boiled it with a fraction of the water, then blended with other ingredients. Added some lime juice and a little bit of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I really enjoy the salsa but I made a couple changes to the recipe. 1) I boiled the tomatillos alone then removed them from the water with a slotted spoon to remove any excess water. 2) SarahLee's review mentioned it being watery so I didn't use any water in the blending process. I just added the boiled tomatillos and the rest of the ingredients in the blender and it game out with a nice not too watery not too thick consistency. Next time I make it I am going to use 2 serrano peppers(maybe 3) since I like my salsa spicy. I also might try adding some lime juice as suggested in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I modified this recipe based on advice from reviewers and it was great! Here's what I did: roasted the tomatillos with half an onion and 2 jalapenos in a covered dutch oven for 1 hour. Drained. In a food processor put roasted ingredients, plus 1 tbs Mexican bullion, 2 tbs jarred minced garlic, a fistful of cilantro LEAVES (never chop the stems in), juice from one lime, and a wee pinch of cumin (my philosophy on cumin is if you can taste it you put too much in.) Then process- not too much! Chill before serving. I did not add salt or oregano since there is salt in the bullion (and oregano?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SonoranDude

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I followed Nina L's advice and put all items in the blender and then in the pot, minus water, plus lime juice. I also added a little more garlic, as my family loves it! Delicious!!! Made for an enchilada recipe from Cooking Light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
!Que Rico! This is a wonderful recipe! My husband brought home a big bag of tomatillos from the store and I tried this ...and we ended up eating it out of bowls like soup! I wouldn't change a thing (well, ok, we like it spicy and I added an extra serrano) AND I looked it up and 1/2 cup has only 18 calories...yes, you read that right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Did a variation. Love it. Be sure to add the seeds of the hot peppers if you want the salsa to be nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I usually don't bother rating these recipes, however, this was very good. I follow the advice of other reviewers and blended everything first. I then boiled it and it came out fantastic.I can have made a number of different sauces and this was delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Yum! I blended before cooking and, like other reviewers suggested, used vinegar and less water -- Will try without the vinegar next time. It is a bit sour, but still very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkunze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States