Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Adding 2 roasted jalapeños helps add some heat and flavor. Spot on, 1 cup of water suffices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It was really great. It tastes way better than enchilada sauce I usually buy at the store. So much healthier too. No sugar except a bit of natural sugars from the tomatillo (like 1 gram of sugar per ounce - about 2 tbs). It is a great recipe for my husband's diabetes. ITS NO JOKE- SUPER EASY!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Awesome recipe, made and served with some homemade turkey enchiladas .. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very tasty, easy to make, and not too spicy. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie Stocker
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is a good starter recipe. It had an OK flavor except no heat. I used 2 serrano peppers and couldn't taste them (maybe they were duds?). Felt it needed a little citric acid so I added a tsp. of lemon juice which really brightened up the herb flavors. Also way too runny. I drained them before putting them the blender (my husband loved the consistency). I will try this again but with habanero's, lime juice, and 1/2 the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie Stocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Grand Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Incredible. This recipe opened me up to a whole new appreciation for the world of fresh and home made salsa. One of the best salsa verdes I have ever had. I listened to the top reviewer , didn't use water, and blended the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Omg. So good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I made a batch a while back and loved it. I was concerned that there was too much cumin in the recipe, but it's the cumin that adds complexity and depth to the flavor. Great recipe - I doubt I will ever be able to go back to store-bought salsa verde!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Boggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I took the suggestions of others. Roasted the tomatillos on the grill until they were done, did not use any water,added the juice of one lime, and doubled the cilantro. Placed everything in my food processor and the result was a very fresh and flavorful dip for my tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I roasted the tomatillos in the oven at 400 degrees with everything but the cumin and salt. I added just enough water to cover the bottom of the dish. This is delicious, I could eat it with a spoon! Now I hope the rest of my tomatillos are ready in the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States