Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Evie Stocker
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is a good starter recipe. It had an OK flavor except no heat. I used 2 serrano peppers and couldn't taste them (maybe they were duds?). Felt it needed a little citric acid so I added a tsp. of lemon juice which really brightened up the herb flavors. Also way too runny. I drained them before putting them the blender (my husband loved the consistency). I will try this again but with habanero's, lime juice, and 1/2 the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie Stocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Grand Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Incredible. This recipe opened me up to a whole new appreciation for the world of fresh and home made salsa. One of the best salsa verdes I have ever had. I listened to the top reviewer , didn't use water, and blended the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Omg. So good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I made a batch a while back and loved it. I was concerned that there was too much cumin in the recipe, but it's the cumin that adds complexity and depth to the flavor. Great recipe - I doubt I will ever be able to go back to store-bought salsa verde!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Boggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I took the suggestions of others. Roasted the tomatillos on the grill until they were done, did not use any water,added the juice of one lime, and doubled the cilantro. Placed everything in my food processor and the result was a very fresh and flavorful dip for my tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I roasted the tomatillos in the oven at 400 degrees with everything but the cumin and salt. I added just enough water to cover the bottom of the dish. This is delicious, I could eat it with a spoon! Now I hope the rest of my tomatillos are ready in the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Needed a lot of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Perfect! What we expected and hoped for. Easy too. The only thing I will change in the future is to make it a bit spicyer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great recipe and easy to make. Much better than any store bought kind. I added just a little chicken broth when I use with chicken recipes. Will have to try adding the lime juice and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe is great. We had tons of tomatillos from the garden and needed something to do with them. boy am i glad we made this! Instead of boiling the ingredients in a skillet though I cut them into big chunks and roasted them for about 30 min. at 400. it really brought out the flavor in the salsa. used 4 jalapeños instead of serrano cause thats what I had. Also used just a little less water so mine was a little thicker, I could have used all the water and it would have been fine. Went great with the homemade enchiladas we made for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan Morton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States