Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
THE BEST WAY TO MAKE SALSA VERDE IS TO BLEND EVERYTHING TOGETHER AN THEN BOIL I MAKEE THIS ON A REGULAR BASES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This is an excellent salsa, and really easy. I also put my tomatillos, onions, peppers & garlic in the blender before cooking. Then add to pan, season and cook it. Have never added water to it, and comes out perfect every time. I change types & quantities of peppers depending on who all will be eating it, but when it's just hubby & me, it's perfect as written. Thanks for the recipe. We have enjoyed this salsa many times. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I have to admit that I used this recipe as a stepping stone.. I'm sure it is delicious as written but I couldn't buy fresh oregano and I wanted fire roasted tomatillos so I ran with it. After roasting the tomatillos I used an immersion blender to puree them, put them into a large sauce pan & set aside. I then placed an entire bunch of cilantro, half of a sweet onion, a seeded jalapeño, 1/2 teaspoon garlic pepper, 1 heaping teaspoon of minced garlic and a 1/4 cup of water into the immersion blender cup & whirred until smooth then added it to the saucepan. To the saucepan I added a heaping tablespoon of chicken base, 1 heaping teaspoon of dried oregano and a tablespoon of cumin. Brought the mixture to a boil, reduced to a simmer for 5 minutes & Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Really good and simple. I blended the tomatillos up in the magic bullet with onion ahead of time so idiot need to add water. It also had a jalapeño from the yard and used that without a lot of the ribs and seeds but it still had great heat. Go ahead and buy those tomatillos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Setaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I just used this for a basic recipe and didn't pay close attention to measurements and left a few spices out and it still came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I could just eat it with a spoon! While I did cook the tomatillos in the said amount of water, I drained a little off before I used my immersion blender to mix it. I did add some vinegar, about 2 TBS, and I added jc of 1 lime at the end, because I love that acidity. Man, with some warmed-up tortilla chips, just stay away from me and my bowl! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Really good, but this is WAY too watery!!! It's more like an enchilada sauce than a salsa. I should have looked up some of the reviews before making this. Next time I will omit the water as many of the reviewers suggested. Otherwise, great flavor and really easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This Salsa is wonderful! I use it on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Fabulous recipe and so easy! The cumin and oregano give it a nice added bit of flavor. I like to add just a little bit of sugar to balance out the acid and tangy taste of the tomatillos and also omitted the water since the cooked tomatillos provide enough of their own juice. Other than that, this is by far the best green salsa recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My changes: I roasted the tomatillos and blended them with the peppers, onions and garlic. Didn't add water. In my opinion, boiling the onions mellows them too much. Plus I add the cilantro at the very end, instead of boiling the cilantro in the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States