Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Just wanted to put it out there that changing the water to vinegar, or adding vinegar, is not necessarily a good means of converting this recipe to make it safe for canning. To safely can salsa, use a recipe meant for canning or follow pH guidelines for canning and buy your own pH meter. Otherwise, the pH might not be low enough to make it safe. Also, tomatillos are not tomatoes, so one cannot presume to convert a canning recipe for tomato salsa to one for tomatillo salsa just by substituting one fruit for the other. The pH might not be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
WONDERFUL !! Best I have ever made. I did take the advice of Nina L (under most helpful reviews ) by switching the cook then blend to her vice-versa method, I was able to eliminate almost all the water. This is my go-to recipe for company and every time I decide to cook Mexican ! Thanks for sharing Kimberly !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I tweaked this recipe a bit because I had lots of green tomatoes left over after the harvest. I added about 6 small tomatoes to the tomatillos and two jalapeno peppers and the finished product was just as delicious as the original recipe (except a little spicier). Had a lot of salsa so I canned what we didn't use immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This it great! I put all the ingredients in my vitamix (blender) without adding the water and then cook it. It is much easier that way! I also added the juice from 1 lime and 1 tsp. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
THE BEST WAY TO MAKE SALSA VERDE IS TO BLEND EVERYTHING TOGETHER AN THEN BOIL I MAKEE THIS ON A REGULAR BASES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This is an excellent salsa, and really easy. I also put my tomatillos, onions, peppers & garlic in the blender before cooking. Then add to pan, season and cook it. Have never added water to it, and comes out perfect every time. I change types & quantities of peppers depending on who all will be eating it, but when it's just hubby & me, it's perfect as written. Thanks for the recipe. We have enjoyed this salsa many times. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I have to admit that I used this recipe as a stepping stone.. I'm sure it is delicious as written but I couldn't buy fresh oregano and I wanted fire roasted tomatillos so I ran with it. After roasting the tomatillos I used an immersion blender to puree them, put them into a large sauce pan & set aside. I then placed an entire bunch of cilantro, half of a sweet onion, a seeded jalapeño, 1/2 teaspoon garlic pepper, 1 heaping teaspoon of minced garlic and a 1/4 cup of water into the immersion blender cup & whirred until smooth then added it to the saucepan. To the saucepan I added a heaping tablespoon of chicken base, 1 heaping teaspoon of dried oregano and a tablespoon of cumin. Brought the mixture to a boil, reduced to a simmer for 5 minutes & Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Really good and simple. I blended the tomatillos up in the magic bullet with onion ahead of time so idiot need to add water. It also had a jalapeño from the yard and used that without a lot of the ribs and seeds but it still had great heat. Go ahead and buy those tomatillos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Setaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I just used this for a basic recipe and didn't pay close attention to measurements and left a few spices out and it still came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I could just eat it with a spoon! While I did cook the tomatillos in the said amount of water, I drained a little off before I used my immersion blender to mix it. I did add some vinegar, about 2 TBS, and I added jc of 1 lime at the end, because I love that acidity. Man, with some warmed-up tortilla chips, just stay away from me and my bowl! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States