Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Way too much water...I mixed mine with raw blended tomatillos and fresh cilantro. Adding whipping cream was a wonderful addition. Yummy on Halibut enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Great recipe. Very versatile. Made it for a bunch of foodies and everyone loved it - even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Way too watery for us. Perhaps it was just our tomatillos but I would suggest starting with just 1/4 cup of water and then adding a little as needed until you get the consistency you want. Great flavor as is but even better with a little lime basil and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Delicious! Very easy and yummy. I used my immersion blender to smooth it out. If it's too watery, you need to simmer it longer- that's all there is to it! Try scrambling some into your eggs- it's a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Love this salsa~~but do not use 2 cups of water!! It makes Verde Soup. The liquid I do use is a little chicken broth, I think I might try another chef's review. Putting it all in the blender prior to the sauce pan, using less liquid. I used an immersion blender right in the pan and it worked wonderfully! Thanks for posting! This is delicious on just about anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Flavor? Fantastic!!! Way too watery, though - I saw that mentioned in reviews, but like to follow the recipe the first time out. However, flavor is surely more important than consistency - we're going to make a chicken soup with this as (part of at least) a base. With a dollop of sour cream or yogurt.....chips on the side......tequila if it's Saturday night.......whoa whoooeee!!! Think that'll be great, and then we'll submit the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Oh my, this is what salsa verde is to be! I did what other have sugessted and rosted my tomatillos along with the peppers and onions. didnt have garlic so used garlic salt a little later instead of salt. Blended all together then simmered down used some lemon juice, and a teaspoon of viniger so didnt need any water, has a really good flavor and texture. will make again hopefully with fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It had a sweet flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Yummm!!! I blend everything before cooking so I don't have to add water. I never use the same peppers twice, I like to play with the flavor, but the fresh taste is always out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Perfect! So yummy!!! Based on other reviews I did only 1 1/3 c water & the juice of 1 lime. I want to drink this stuff :-) made it as a dip, but it will make the most amazing enchiladas I'm sure. ***update- used it it Spinach Enchiladas Verde by Nicegirl52 AMAZING!!! Highly recommend using the recipes together for a delicious dinner!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States