Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've made tomatillo sauce before but broiled the tomatillos in the oven. This way was MUCH faster! The ingredients compliment each other so nicely. I served it over roasted pork tenderloin. What was nice was I found another tomatillo in the fridge after the sauce had already been simmering and after a few minutes, it soon softened enough to blend after I added it. Great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This. is. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Roast the tomatillos and Serrano peppers instead of boiling. Then toss all as above in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I'm giving a 5 but next time, I may cut back on the water just a bit, I'd like it a little thicker. I believe it all has to do with the size of the tomatillos, maybe mine were small. Even my daughter loved the taste. I will say I did cheat just a little in that I used a big jalapeno instead of a serrano. I was afraid of the heat and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made this with a few minor changes. First I put it all in the blender, I chopped the tomatillo's in quarters first, added about 3 tablespoons of red onion in addition to the white, used 1 huge jalapeno that I seeded because serrano's are a little to hot for the hubby & I used 1 heaping tablespoon of dried oregano, the juice of half a lime all the rest of the ingredients and whirled it all in the blender until smooth. I put it all in a saucepan and brought it to a boil for 5 minute's, then simmered for 30 minutes. Wonderful!!! I also made a dip out of 3 tablespoons of the salsa and added 1 heaping tablespoon of pickled chopped japaleno's and 1/4 cup ranch dressing. Fantastic. Much like the creamy japaleno dip you get at Chuey's. Served along side the Chicken Enchilada's 11 tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I doubled the garlic and halved the water. I made this with 3 other salsa recipes for canning, and this one turned out the best. With my edits to quantities it's a 5 star recipe. This is mildly spiced salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choosyGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very easy recipe with delicious results. I added 1 tbsp of fresh lime juice for a little more acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Simple. I had a few revisions though. I had used dried oregano instead of fresh.. I blended everything in a food processor first before boiling. 2 cups of water is way too much. I used 1 cup and thought that was too much, I ended up draining more than half the water out after boiling/simmering ...because I don't like runny saucy. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States