Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This recipe is perfect! I made it with tomatillos and a "super chili" from my brother's garden. These were award winners at the CNE/state fair and I could eat this on everything. It couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was so easy and delicious! Will be making this frequently. I thought the recipe was great as is. We ate it over chicken tostadas and also with chips....and then my husband with just a spoon! I am looking forward to trying some of the suggestions from other reviewers. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Excellent! We always enjoy salsa verde in authentic Mexican restaurants but didn't know if we could duplicate. This recipe is every bit as good as anything we've had at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Way too watery. I wouldn't add lime juice or vinegar. Real Salsa verda doesn' have either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Instead of 2 cups water, use 1 cup water, 1/4 cup vinegar and juice of one lime. Add 1/2 tsp. sugar, if needed. (i cut back on the salt a little, too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed another review and chopped up everything in the blender first and then cooked it without adding any water. Also added the cilantro and oregano after the salsa had cooked. This was my first salsa verde and I thought it was great. Not only did I think it was great, but my husband and nieces also liked it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC! I added half a boullion cube to the water and instead of the serrano I roasted Hatch chili peppers. After peeling and seeding the peppers I added about 8 of them to the pot, simmered it on low , uncoverd for about 45 minutes. The consistency was not watery and the taste was amazing. Low calorie too!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I added an extra Serrano and 1 jalopeno which created a response from my children.I then added 1 cup of sour cream which in turn made me a hero.We all truly enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made a few changes to the recipe. I KNOW, it isn't the exact way, therefore, it's really not the recipe as some reviewers have said. But anyhoo, that being said, I threw in a couple of pieces of chopped green bell pepper into the blender, AND did not use any of the water I boiled the tomatillos & jalapeños in. Perfect consistency & not too watery as others said. I seeded one jalapeño & left the other as is. It was spiced perfectly (to my family's taste anyway). I also added the juice from one small lime (Key lime). We loved it! Just like the salsa verde they use/serve at authentic Mexican restaurants. Awesome!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CucaCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Thanks for this recipe it was sooo good! I added lime juice from 1/2 a lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States