Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I feel like boiling the mixture with all the spices really tones them down. I like to boil/roast the tomatillos to soften them. Then blend all the spices together as well as add a squeezed lime and omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Nice flavor ,but a little to thin in texture. I would not use so much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe. I blended everything together first and then cooked. I did not add any water after reading other reviews. I also added some smoked paprika and that added some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This recipe is perfect! I made it with tomatillos and a "super chili" from my brother's garden. These were award winners at the CNE/state fair and I could eat this on everything. It couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was so easy and delicious! Will be making this frequently. I thought the recipe was great as is. We ate it over chicken tostadas and also with chips....and then my husband with just a spoon! I am looking forward to trying some of the suggestions from other reviewers. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Excellent! We always enjoy salsa verde in authentic Mexican restaurants but didn't know if we could duplicate. This recipe is every bit as good as anything we've had at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Way too watery. I wouldn't add lime juice or vinegar. Real Salsa verda doesn' have either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Instead of 2 cups water, use 1 cup water, 1/4 cup vinegar and juice of one lime. Add 1/2 tsp. sugar, if needed. (i cut back on the salt a little, too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed another review and chopped up everything in the blender first and then cooked it without adding any water. Also added the cilantro and oregano after the salsa had cooked. This was my first salsa verde and I thought it was great. Not only did I think it was great, but my husband and nieces also liked it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC! I added half a boullion cube to the water and instead of the serrano I roasted Hatch chili peppers. After peeling and seeding the peppers I added about 8 of them to the pot, simmered it on low , uncoverd for about 45 minutes. The consistency was not watery and the taste was amazing. Low calorie too!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States