Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe is great. We had tons of tomatillos from the garden and needed something to do with them. boy am i glad we made this! Instead of boiling the ingredients in a skillet though I cut them into big chunks and roasted them for about 30 min. at 400. it really brought out the flavor in the salsa. used 4 jalapeños instead of serrano cause thats what I had. Also used just a little less water so mine was a little thicker, I could have used all the water and it would have been fine. Went great with the homemade enchiladas we made for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan Morton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I agree, it was a little watery and I like a chunkier salsa. So I also added lime brighten the taste. Maybe the roasting would provide a chunkier texture. Great taste. Makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
It turned out to be a watery mess. The flavor was good. Then I read the reviews and everybody said to cut down on the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Best salsa ever! I made to top flank steak tacos, but ended up eating with chips. So good. I roasted the veggies instead of boiling, omitted the water, only added juice of a small lime before blending. All other quantities for ingredients are spot on. Fabulous salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made this with chicken broth instead of water and it was delicious. I would make sure to leave the pan uncovered when it is cooking as mine turned out a bit runny although it did thicken some overnight. Be careful not to over blend. I won't puree it next time to leave it a tiny bit chunky. Excellent flavor and will definitely make it again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
DO NOT ADD THE WATER!!! read the other reviews and follow those directions unless you want tomatillo soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is a good recipe, made great with the addition of a few TBSP of lime juice, to taste, added AFTER cooking. Before cooking, I pureed everything except the water, cilantro and lime. While cooking, I added just a little water to get it to the right consistency. After cooking, I pureed it again to incorporate the cilantro and lime. The cilantro tastes fresher added at the end. Also, I did try a batch replacing the water with vinegar, as recommended by other reviewers. I didn't care at all for this -- it overpowered the flavor of the tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Had volunteer tomilltilos come up in my garden this year. Made the SalsaVerde, with lime,(nowater), blended them with other indgredeants, & cooked till smooth. However with three feezers FULL, I would like to can some. Does anyone have a recipe to can it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Boughner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Yum! I made no changes in the ingredients, but I did blend the tomatillos (came in our farm share), onions, garlic and pepper together and then cooked them with the spices and did not add water. Wish I had more tomatillos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I LOVE salsa verde & this recipe is excellent. I wanted a recipe to can & this has been the best I found. I doubled the recipe & made the following tweaks. Firstly I roasted the tomatillos under broiler till they had some black spots, cooled &
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States