Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I also took Judy's advice and used lime juice and vinegar (less water). Perfect on enchiladas or as a salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
this was soooo easy to make and it was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
used this for canning 2011
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Needs no water. Food-process the ingredients before and after cooking. Add a little white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I have been looking for a good tomatillo salsa recipe, and think I have it. This is one of the best I have every had! I took the suggestion of Nina L and just blended the ingrediants first, then cooked, didn't come out too watery at all. I also added the boullion cubes she suggested, was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Made this on a whim last month - Husband Approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Phenomenal flavour! I blended all ingredients together and then put in saucepan and simmered for 20 minutes. I did omit the water because we like thick salsa. I will be freezing this in serving size containers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was a great base but I did a few things different. First, I used slightly more than 1lb of tomatillos and I also added 2 opoblano peppers. I roasted those in the oven together for 30 minutes on 350 and just used some EVOO and S&P on them. Once the tomatillos becaome soft I took them out and put them in my food processor. I added 1/2 cups of water and the juice of 5 limes to that mixture. I also added a few tablespoons of white vinegar for balance. 1tsp of salt, 1tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of dry oregano. I used probably half of a medium sized red onion, about half of a bushel of cilantro, 3-4 cloves of fresh garlic and 2 serrano peppers. I then pulsed until my desired consistency and put in a saucepan. Brought the mixture to a boil and then put on low/simmer for 10 minutes to blend the flavors. Perfect! Heat had a bite at the end but went away quickly so I would say that is perfect! Do not add all of that water unless you want soup. The tomatillos are full of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SISSYZEKE
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Man, this is good. I followed the ingredients to the letter, but I would make it a little spicier next time, perhaps adding more serrano. Easy and perfect for the tailgate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Great recipe! That is high praise from me, because I generally don't care for salsa. I did as others did: did not add water; added lime juice and a little vinegar; added a few red toms. I used jalapenos, a red chili, and a cayenne. (I like it hot.) I roasted the tomatillos and peppers in the broiler before adding them to the sauce pan. The roasted flavor was wonderful. I would be easy on the vinegar, as it can overwhelm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States