Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I loved the taste, but I found the texture a bit watery for my taste. Instead of boiling I opted to roast the tomatillos, pepper, and garlic in the oven. Then I mixed everything together in the blender, substituting the juice of half a lime for water. Roasting the tomatillos helped thicken the salsa a bit, and really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zavesky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I use this salsa to make green enchiladas. It's simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I followed the advice of one of the other posters and added lime juice, but found this was still missing something. I added tablespoon of a mild salsa spice which really brought the flavors more into what I was looking for. I also omitted the water and blended the ingredients before boiling, it was a perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
BLAND! I tried to put more jalapenos in it because I usually don’t keep Serrano peppers on hand unless I buy them for something. Jalapenos are nasty in this… and without them it has no zing… I will be buying my Salsa Verde from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Talley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe. I made it for the spinach encilada recipe and almost didn't have enough because my husband went crazy over it and was eating it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very good. The only place where it needs improvement is that the salsa is a little thin if made per the directions. After blending I put it back on the stove on high for about 5 minutes and let the salsa boil down a little; stirring frequently. Next time I'll just add less water; 1.5 cups would probably be about right. I used this to make an enchilada casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Good, simple recipe for salsa verde. I've made this recipe with fresh tomatillos and also with all-natural canned tomatillos. It is tasty both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Roasted the tomatillos, garlic , onions and threw in a couple of tomatoes...then blended the whole batch..did not need to add much water...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I also took Judy's advice and used lime juice and vinegar (less water). Perfect on enchiladas or as a salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
this was soooo easy to make and it was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States