Tomatillo Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My changes: I roasted the tomatillos and blended them with the peppers, onions and garlic. Didn't add water. In my opinion, boiling the onions mellows them too much. Plus I add the cilantro at the very end, instead of boiling the cilantro in the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This might be the best green salsa I've ever had. I halved the recipe. . I put everything in the blender first as suggested. Substituted 1 jalapeño for the Serrano. Omitted the water. Then simmered for 15 minutes. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I roasted my tomatillos, onions and garlic in a drizzle of olive oil until very tender. Why boil??? Also did not add any water....this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
made with reviewers recommendations...very good..blended first without water then cooked. Added a little bit of water to reach my desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Way too much water...I mixed mine with raw blended tomatillos and fresh cilantro. Adding whipping cream was a wonderful addition. Yummy on Halibut enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Great recipe. Very versatile. Made it for a bunch of foodies and everyone loved it - even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Way too watery for us. Perhaps it was just our tomatillos but I would suggest starting with just 1/4 cup of water and then adding a little as needed until you get the consistency you want. Great flavor as is but even better with a little lime basil and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Delicious! Very easy and yummy. I used my immersion blender to smooth it out. If it's too watery, you need to simmer it longer- that's all there is to it! Try scrambling some into your eggs- it's a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Love this salsa~~but do not use 2 cups of water!! It makes Verde Soup. The liquid I do use is a little chicken broth, I think I might try another chef's review. Putting it all in the blender prior to the sauce pan, using less liquid. I used an immersion blender right in the pan and it worked wonderfully! Thanks for posting! This is delicious on just about anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Flavor? Fantastic!!! Way too watery, though - I saw that mentioned in reviews, but like to follow the recipe the first time out. However, flavor is surely more important than consistency - we're going to make a chicken soup with this as (part of at least) a base. With a dollop of sour cream or yogurt.....chips on the side......tequila if it's Saturday night.......whoa whoooeee!!! Think that'll be great, and then we'll submit the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Gangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States