Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
absoulutely amazing. i don't really like guacamole, but this changed me. i added a few touches though. i added some cayenne pepper and habanero pepper. awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
this has become a staple in my house! we always have guacamole now. I like spicy food so I added a few jalapenos, more hot sauce, and more crushed red peppers. everyone i served it to LOVED it and i plan on making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starsxsatellites

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Turned out yummy after a couple additions like garlic powder and onion powder. It was great fresh but became a little watery the next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taymay13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Wow! Can't believe what a great addition tomatillos are to guacamole! What a great crisp taste it gives. I added cilantro (personal preference). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Yum! This is very tangy and good guacamole. Definately something out of the ordinary, the tomatillos really add a nice flavor in there. Make sure to get nice deep green tomatillos when making the guacamole. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Thanks for sharing the great recipe, ill be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I was very impressed with this even before I served it. You could just tell as you chopped up the ingredients and mixed them up that you were going to be in for something good. I did tinker with it a little though, but more just to personalize it to our tastes. I left out the "hot" stuff which Hubs doesn't tolerate well. I backed off on the onion a little so it wouldn't overwhelm, added minced garlic, a finely chopped jalapeno pepper, a small amount of fresh cilantro, and about 3/4 tsp. of cumin, all flavors I typically enjoy in traditional guacamole. I also chose to leave the avocados a little chunky rather than completely mashing them. It took a fair amount of chopping for this recipe, but it was worth it. I served it for a dinner get-together and everyone had at it. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yumyumyum!! Delicious with fresh, chopped cilantro! I had to use beef tomatoes, so the colors weren't as vibrant, but it was still a delicious guac. My family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skoo
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Great! I've never used raw tomatillos before but I really liked this. I didn't have red onion so I used green and added some cilantro because we love it. It was only a bit spicy I might add a jalapeno next time if I want to kick it up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this for the first time for a BBQ and had pretty good reviews! I personally like more avocado in my guac, but no one else seemed to mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I'll admit that I don't make this particular recipes, my boyfriend does, but it blows my mind every single time he does. It's a frequent request around here, and whenever it's made for parties and get togethers, it is always the first that gets eaten up, no matter how large a batch he makes. If you love guac, you're going to love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States