Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was really tasty and was eaten up quickly. I think we added more lime juice and red pepper flakes than it called for and much more salt and pepper...but my husband and I like things really seasoned. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapolis Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
absoulutely amazing. i don't really like guacamole, but this changed me. i added a few touches though. i added some cayenne pepper and habanero pepper. awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
this has become a staple in my house! we always have guacamole now. I like spicy food so I added a few jalapenos, more hot sauce, and more crushed red peppers. everyone i served it to LOVED it and i plan on making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starsxsatellites

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Turned out yummy after a couple additions like garlic powder and onion powder. It was great fresh but became a little watery the next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taymay13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Wow! Can't believe what a great addition tomatillos are to guacamole! What a great crisp taste it gives. I added cilantro (personal preference). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Yum! This is very tangy and good guacamole. Definately something out of the ordinary, the tomatillos really add a nice flavor in there. Make sure to get nice deep green tomatillos when making the guacamole. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Thanks for sharing the great recipe, ill be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I was very impressed with this even before I served it. You could just tell as you chopped up the ingredients and mixed them up that you were going to be in for something good. I did tinker with it a little though, but more just to personalize it to our tastes. I left out the "hot" stuff which Hubs doesn't tolerate well. I backed off on the onion a little so it wouldn't overwhelm, added minced garlic, a finely chopped jalapeno pepper, a small amount of fresh cilantro, and about 3/4 tsp. of cumin, all flavors I typically enjoy in traditional guacamole. I also chose to leave the avocados a little chunky rather than completely mashing them. It took a fair amount of chopping for this recipe, but it was worth it. I served it for a dinner get-together and everyone had at it. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yumyumyum!! Delicious with fresh, chopped cilantro! I had to use beef tomatoes, so the colors weren't as vibrant, but it was still a delicious guac. My family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skoo
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Great! I've never used raw tomatillos before but I really liked this. I didn't have red onion so I used green and added some cilantro because we love it. It was only a bit spicy I might add a jalapeno next time if I want to kick it up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this for the first time for a BBQ and had pretty good reviews! I personally like more avocado in my guac, but no one else seemed to mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States