Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Tomatillos are small and green with a papery husk on them. Depending on where you live, you might find them in the specialty produce section of the grocery store, or at a Mexican market. Sometimes you can buy them canned, but for this recipe, I would advise the fresh ones. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
this is the best recipe. it so reminds me of mexico. all fresh and yummy! the only thing i add is about a tablespoon of sour cream. it just adds that extra creaminess that i love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferMHoward

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I added a serrano pepper the seccond time I made this in place of thehot pepper sauce. I was great this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I love this recipe! My husband and kids don't like guacamole, but they scarf this down like you wouldn't believe! I brought some in to work for a pot luck, and ended up giving copies of the recipe to several people! I even grew tomatillos in my garden after trying this, and I had NEVER tried a tomatillo before! Wow!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This recipe is great-I love the "extras". But beware this can be on the hot side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I was not sure if everyone would like this and it ended up disappearing faster than anything else during the Super Bowl. The only change I made was reducing the amount of red onion I put in. This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
the best guacamole ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This guacamole is great, but why not add a couple springs of cilantro? Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
yummy. this was delicious. great call on both the cilantro and limiting the red onion. i only put half the onion in there and still woke up w/heinous breath. yikes! plus, i couldn't find roma tomatoes, so i just used plum. one thing i laid off of was the red pepper b/c my husband doesn't like spicy as much as i do, but i did put way more than 3 drops of tobassco in there. i also thought this would be a great thing for the food processor, but since no one else tried it, i did it the old fashioned way. chunky is nice, but i think i may try beating it to a pulp next time. tho my husband says he liked it chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Yum, yum, yum. Great change from plain salsa. It's got a great tang with the tomatillos. We'll be making this one at all of our get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States