Tomatatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I love tomatillos, but they made everything a liquidy mess in this recipe. The taste was okay, it just wasn't mashed potato consistency. More like a chunky stew type of result. It was fun to try something different, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
My boyfriend and I really liked these; the tomatillos added a bit of a kick. I pureed them as another reviewer suggested before adding them to the potatoes. There were still skins, but we eat mashed potatoes with the potato skins anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. Make sure you know what tomatillos taste like before trying this recipe, because they are sour to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Really good! Followed recipe, but diced tomatillos before adding to the potatoes. There were skins, but there were skins from the red potatoes too. It all worked out and tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Frankly, I did not like the tomatillo flavor in the potatoes. The tomatillos made everything taste kind of rancid. The skins of the tomatillos did not disintegrate, leaving odd surprises whilst eating. This recipe might benefit from adding shredded cheddar cheese on top, or just 1 tomatillo instead of 3 or 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
A neat idea, and pretty tastey. This is a good basic mashed potato recipe. I suggest pureeing the tomatillos after cooking, as the skins never blend with the rest of the mashed potatoes; you have to pick around them. Also, since I was going for non-traditional potatoes, I added some steak seasoning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
The tomatillos added an odd flavor. They did not really blend with the potatos. My husband picked them out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLTONC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Excellent and simple. What a great combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
These were very good and very moist. Using the small red potatoes instead of russets makes a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

How to Fix Lumpy Mashed Potatoes

Got lumpy, bumpy mashed potatoes?! See quick tricks that will save the day!

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States