Tom and Jerry Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bradpick66
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
As a Wisconsin native, warm winter drinks are a must. We have a local bakery that makes their own mix, they have been the mix of choice. I made this recipe for the first time today, and it is fantastic! Only note I'll make is that the directions mention adding rum, but the ingredients don't list any rum. I make my Tom & Jerry with 1/2 to 1 ounce each brandy and rum, about 2 1/2 tablespoons mix and about one cup of near boiling water. Mmmmmm. Sure to warn you up from the inside out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bradpick66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as given and it was excellent. The only thing I changed was that I used brandy and more like 2-3 tbsp of mix for added thickness and flavor. The perfect warmer upper in the chilly days of winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Instead of milk and rum, my family always does a half oz of rum and an ounce of brandy. I know, Strong Drinks, right, but so delicious! I have honestly been looking for a recipe that didn't use flour in it, as the flour taste comes thru so much that it ruins the experience. Thank Goodness for a recipe that I can follow to a "T" and it comes out perfect, EVERY time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My dad made homemade Tom & Jerry mix every Christmas. Sorry dad, but this outshines your mix. It is delicious. I would omit the Cloves and Mace as I am not a fan of those spices. If anything, I would add some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nettles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Wonderfull! perfect consistancy and flavor. We didnt have a scale, but figured out the proper amounts through a little investigation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was ABSOLUTELY wonderful. I followed the recipe exact. What a wonderful treat. My eggnog loving husband adored this and my kids had it sans whiskey and just drank it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I run a private club, The Fraternal Order of Eagles, Tom & Jerry's are our Christmas Eve tradition, this year, I was not able to get ahold of the mix, used this recipe..WOW...what a difference, our members LOVED it...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
EXCELLENT recipe! Tom & Jerrys are a family tradition so this year I wanted to try and make it instead of buy it. We add half brandy and half rum with ours and it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tom Collins Cocktail

See how to mix up a refreshing classic cocktail.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States