Tom and Jerry Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is also a family recipe of mine. We put 2 TBLS with a 1/2 shot of run and a 1/2 shot of whiskey and add hot water. Stir - it's the best to warm you from the inside out. You can also make for kids without the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This tastes just like the stuff I drank as a kid in northern Wisconsin. Thanks so much for the recipe. I made a rookie mistake and didn't check the number of servings before I started separating eggs. Be aware, this recipe makes about six pints worth of the stuff. I'll be sending guests home with the leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have never had this before. It seems like a very sweet eggnog batter to flavor hot drinks. I used the calculate button and changed it to 6 servings. 1/4 lb of powdered sugar is equal to 1 cup and 1 1/2 oz of butter is equal to 1 1/2 Tblsp. The only change I made was just doing a sprinkle of the cloves, because I don't care for that spice, as it is so strong. I tried it with cocoa and it made it a little more creamy and gave it a slight warm Christmas spice flavor. I then tried it with milk, as seems is traditional, and it was completely different tasting. It tasted like a thinner warm eggnog, actually better to me than traditional eggnog, as it was less thick. I can see how this is a winter holiday drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
We loved this and made it often throughout the holidays! We made the batter just as the recipe stated, than made drinks with 1 shot of both whiskey and spiced rum. Yummy! Definitely a new staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
THIS is what my homemade non-dairy eggnog needed! To be totally honest, I cheated. I didn't want to take the time to follow the directions, and I just threw all the ingredients in a blender (recipe scaled down, of course). It came out tasting absolutely fabulous. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHERIEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
It takes a little time to separate & whip the eggs, but it is well worth it! This is the best T&J batter I've every had. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Great recipe.... thanks so much for sharing. It is just like I remember from many cold winter days in Wisconsin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Awesome!!! So much cheaper than the store bought kind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is the best ever. Reminds me of when I was younger, drinking these in the winter, eveen virgin ones when even younger. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cascade, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is fantastic!!! AND I have a couple tips to make it a little easier and less messy to make. The final product for this recipe is just as good if not better than the stuff you get at the grocery store, but after making it twice, I discovered a couple things that really help the mixing process. First, the suggested serving size in this recipe is about 1T, and I'm not aware of anyone who doesn't put at least 2T in each glass they make, so consider that when estimating the serving number you want to make (and remember, the batter is fantastic kept frozen, so go ahead and make extra!). I used the serving size calculator to adjust it to 45 servings (and there are only 3 people in our home). This # of servings allows you to use an entire 2lb bag of powdered sugar so there's less mess - no measuring needed. At 45 svgs, it then calls for 7.5 eggs - I used 6 large eggs, and 2 small ones to make that work. The completed batch nicely fills a 1/2 gallon container which I keep in the freezer during Christmastime. For mixing, you will find much less mess if you mix egg whites, and mix the yolks. Then add yolks to butter, plus vanilla, then add the whites, and THEN add the sugar. After all mixed, add spices at the end. This eliminates the cloud of powdered sugar floating around your kitchen, as there is more liquid to help soak it all up. I'm sure there may be a reason for the suggested order, but I've found this sequence a much less messy process. :-) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tom Collins Cocktail

See how to mix up a refreshing classic cocktail.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States