Tom Yum Koong Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My daughter was obsessed with a specific Thai restaurant in Los angeles that served this soup. Since moving 90 miles away we could only get it for her once in a blue moon. I really thought I could not replicate the taste of their soup but with this recipe, I got the biggest hug and "thank u mommy!" from my daughter. I don't know where to get shrimp heads from so I buy raw shelled shrimp and boil them til cooked with a little salt, lime, and one small piece of lemon grass. I strain the shrimp and use that shrimp water to continue boiling the shells as my broth. I blend a couple shrimps too for extra flavor. I keep the shrimps in the fridge and add them when the soup is served individually. That makes the shrimp taste perfect and not rubbery. I also boil all the other ingredients for double the time (except mushrooms) and I leave the Tom yum paste and chili paste on the table instead of adding to the soup so we have a clear soup and everyone can choose the amount they like added. I have made this 3 times since I found an Asian market that carried everything. Most of the items like then chili pods, lemon grass and leaves are sold in large packets so I freeze the extras for later use. I also added king crab and or snow crab legs the last five minutes of cooking. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
The only alteration I did was add a tsp of dried shrimp paste. Other than that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This soup is deliciously spicy and tangy. I went to the Asian market to find the ingredients and found everything I needed except for the Kaffir lime leaves and chile padi. I used lime zest and Thai chilies instead. I could not stomach making a broth out of shrimp heads and shells, so I used chicken broth. Vegetable broth would also work well. The recipe does not mention that galangal and lemon grass are not meant to be eaten. They have a tree bark texture, but they go into the soup for flavor. Next time I make this soup I will not cut the lemon grass into small "match stick" sized pieces because it made them very hard to remove from the soup before serving. I may put them into a tea bag like sack to get the flavor and make removing them more simple. Also, put the shrimp into the soup after it's done cooking and after you remove it from the heat. They cook in about 45 seconds. Lastly, I added chopped cabbage and diced carrots to give the soup more substance as a meal. It was just enough for 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Andree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
thanks so much for this recipe. I've been making this recipe for several years now and have been told that its better than many restaurants soup. thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
this recipe is amazing! i adjusted the ingredients to about 12 servings so i'll have an easy reheat lunch, and subbed chicken rather than shrimp (still following suit and boiling the bones in the water for 20 mins, and letting rest for 20 mins for enhanced flavor). i also ran around chicago and found some great asian markets which carry lime leaves (make sure to tear them instead of chopping), lemon grass (after you trim them smack it with the knife handle moderately to release flavor), and tom yum soup paste. i forgot the chili peppers so added a smidge more chili paste for a fair kick. i also strained out the lemon grass, lime leaves, and galangal instead of having to do it each time i eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Added lil coconut milk at the end for added thickness. Delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Yummy! Don't forget to pound the lemongrass to get more flavor out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Ahhh... great soup!!! Used about 6 spoons of chile sauce and I love it!!! We usually buy this product for about 8.00 dollars a pint... but I must say this recipe is extremely similar to what we buy... Extremely hot and great!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I have used this recipe 4 or 5 times in the past year. This is a must do soup for anyone with a cold or sinus infection. The lemongrass, lime, ginger and chili pepper are a kick cold killer combo. I fell in love with this soup at a nearby Thai restaurant. I am never one to follow a recipe . . . but I kinda follow the basics on this one. My shrimp stock was made only from the tails of raw shrimp. I used regular ginger instead of galangal. I added cherry tomatoes just like they did at the restaurant. Another time I added spinach. The last time I made this I added turmeric, garlic and sweet potatoes to the soup. The basic stock recipe here is awesome . . . shrimp shells, kaffir lime leaves, lemongrass, chili pepper . . . an exotic pick me up and virus killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I hadn't had this since my trip to thailand last year and this recipe tasted pretty authentic. I substituted the water for chicken stock and did notice that it was already spicy before adding the thai bird chiles so I only added 2 instead of 4 and waited until the end to add them like another reviewer suggested. Very good! I will save this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States