Tom Thumb Bars (Coconut Specialties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Super easy and super delicious! I can say nothing more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNYANN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
These cookie bars brought back such great memories. As a child in the 60's we went to Nanny's house in Halifax and these were the buffet drawer favorite. Captured the memory exactly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe similar to the recipe my mother made and was a personal favorite. We called them chews. The main difference was her recipe did not have salt or walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
These bars are very very good. Moist and flavorful. We love coconut and walnuts, so I increased each by 1/2 cup. For an extra sweet treat, frost with cream cheese icing. These freeze well, too. Thanks Juanita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
These bars were fairly simple to make and the ingredients were on hand. They were pretty good, however I thought the crust was a little bit too salty. If you use unsalted butter, then adding the salt is probably a good idea, but if you are using salted butter, don't add very much salt. It doesn't need it. I will probably make this again, but I think I will continue my search for the ultimate coconut bar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Yum! I halved the recipe and baked in a 9x9 inch brownie pan, so I cut each baking time by 5 minutes. For my fiancee's benefit, I replaced the walnuts with 1/2 cup chocolate chips and I also added 1/4 cup rolled oats. I chose this recipe because the name was interesting and because I prefer classic recipes, but I'm glad they turned out well. ;p Going into the recipe book for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mar101997
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Turned out great. My hubby doesn't like nuts so I substituted dark chocolate chips for the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I find these overly sweet and soft. The best part of them for me was the walnuts. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States