Tom Szaller's Great Pan or Bird Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
My family can't get enough of this, I made it for Thanksgiving and had to make it for twice since then! My any changes is adding celery, 2 tsp sage and rosemary and lightly toasting the bread before mixing with the other ingredients. Otherwise, fantastic! I have used this several times to make stuffed porkchops and with a pork crown roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I tend to try a new stuffing recipe every year. I have made many stuufings from fruit ones to the ordinary sage cornbread kind. But I'll tell you something, I tried this one for the first time this year. Next year I am going to use the same one. This is the best dressing ever, all I did to alter it was add about 2 tablespoons of sage. otherwise it is perfect and the only one I will use in years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is a really versitile recipe. I've made it half a dozen times. I use it to stuff mushrooms, flank steak and birds. Great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I did not care for this recipe. It is a good thing I had several other side dishes. This is definately not worth the work or effort for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
The best I made. Nice compliment for a deep-fried cajun flavored turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
If you’re a traditional bread stuffing purist don’t try this, especially on Thanksgiving when you don’t want to take any chances! I was after something different tonight and this was it. Green peppers in stuffing was a first for me. So was bacon. And this was the first time I did not add a beaten egg. Rather than boiling the vegetables, bacon and sausage, I browned the meats and sweated the vegetables. I added the warmed broth to the combined ingredients. I used about 1/3 less of the spices called for which proved to be a good call for us. Bottom line? Eh –nice to try, but not a repeat for us. There was so much going on with this stuffing that the “bread” part of bread stuffing was lost. Two stars from Hubs, and I’m being generous with my three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I just made this recipe for the 3rd Thanksgiving in a row. I have never rec'd so many compliments, and for a stuffing recipe, who would have thought. I don't alter a thing. It is very flavorful & filling. Even if I don't host Thanksgiving, I have been asked to provide the stuffing, this recipe. Can't say enough about it, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
A little time consuming, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Haven, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
My boyfriend and I have been making this recipe for the last four Thanksgivings and it is invariably the star course! We've even made this as the main dish for dinners. Very filling and delicious! Thank you, Mr Szaller! Update (6/7/09): Just to add that almost five years later, my now-husband and I still love this recipe. It is an integral part of our Thanksgiving meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was different from any I have ever had. However, it fit right in with my southern/cajun family style. It was an excellent addition. It was also my first time making the stuffing so I'm proof it's a doable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States