Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious and easy. I used canned chicken, to cut prep time, and a can of straw mushrooms for a fast filling soup. I used chicken broth instead of the water, doubled the lime juice and the cilantro and left out the tumeric and onion. 15 minutes cook time with almost no prep. My family said it was better than the coconut soup we get at the Thai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Stinking good! New comfort food. I didn't have fresh ginger on hand so I used ground ginger and didn't miss it. We served this over white rice and wished we had leftovers for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Yummy, but next time I'll skip the cilantro and add mushrooms instead. I could see myself eating this for dessert! Substitutions: chicken broth for water, nix the turmeric, add equal sugar with fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made quite a few revisions according to other reviews and a previous recipe I had: added shiitake mushrooms, carrot, 2 Tbspn sugar, 2 Tbspn soy sauce, slices of garlic, lemongrass, left out the tumeric, used chicken broth in place of water and only 1 can lite coconut milk. This recipe is a great starting point! Easy and exoticly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Really good! I used oyster sauce since it is what I had on hand and didn't have tumeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Absolutely not authentic. A tip for keeping lemongrass, galangal and kefir lime leaves for those of us whose love them but have a hard time finding them (and don't use them all the time)... freeze them. Put each just as you get them fresh into freezer bags (no washing or other prep). Use them while still frozen by grating or mincing finely into your cooking. Do not thaw first! The freezing breaks down the texture of the lemongrass and lime leaves so that if you use fine bits it will not need to be removed before eating. One caveat, I do strip off the tougher outside of the lemongrass before freezing. You can do regular ginger this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this recipe almost exactly as printed and loved it. Only change... I doubled the pepper and it could still use more. We like it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Excellent! At the very least...this recipe provides a WONDERFUL jumping off point - then tweak as needed. I did scale recipe up to 8 servings and that made quite a bit. Delish! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is the best soup I've ever tasted. The kids were scared of coconut milk, and wouldn't taste it, but it was so good. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Made this a crock recipe - combined all inggrediants and cooked on high for 4 hours ( also added flash frozen chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifer

Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States