Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Never tried this soup at a Thai restaurant - in fact I know nothing about Thai food - but this was a great soup, did some modifications though. I only had one can of coconut cream, and I only used 3 cups of water which was plenty. I added a tablespoon of lime juice, omitted the turmeric, and put big chunks of ginger that I took out before serving. I had no green onion and replaced the fresh cilantro with dried cilantro; also added about two or three teaspoons of white sugar. It was a rather yummy soup, all in all! At first my family thought it smelled and tasted strange, but after a few sips they all liked it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Loved it. Have to be careful with the ol' fish sauce though -- they vary so much. The other flavors were very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was phenomenal, but I had to make some changes based on what I have available. I used leftover roasted chicken & doubled it (so no oil); I used homemade chicken stock for the water & I doubled that too; used 1 tbsp. ground ginger; 4 tbsp oyster sauce; doubled the cayenne; omitted the turmeric; added garlic powder, dried cilantro, a heaping tsp of dried lemongrass, & 4 tbsp. cream of coconut. I cooked my green onion in the soup & think I might use the entire sheaf next time. I kept the coconut milk & lime juice quantities the same (my husband added more red pepper & more lime juice at the table). I will definitely make this again, and I will properly double the recipe when I do. (Was afraid, this time, that we just wouldn't like it, but we SO did.) I can't speak to this recipe's authenticity as we'd never had a Tom Ka Gai that we liked, so I just kept adding & subtracting things until I reached a flavor that *I* liked. Thank you SO much, this was so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This dish is incredible! We have eaten Tom Ka Gui at thai restaurants, but none of them are as good as this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I really like this soup, but my boyfriend is turned off by the smell, and it doesn't look nice when you refrigerate it for later. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I've been craving this since having it from a Thai restaurant a couple weeks ago. I used low fat coconut milk, cut out the tumeric, used chunks of ginger that I took out after simmering, added 4 Tbl sugar, doubled cilantro, used chicken broth instead of water. Soo good! I did what someone else suggested and added lime slices while it simmered and then took them out. Next time I wouldn't do this because I think it gave it a little bit of a bitter taste. I will also add mushrooms next time like the kind I got at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I thought this was a great soup whether actual Tom Ka Gai or a mock version of it, this is good soup. I changed it some though due to lack of the proper ingredients and a desire to have more to it. I used powered ginger and lemon juice. I didn't use turmeric, green onions, or cilantro. I did however add bay leaves, a spoonful of sugar, red peppers, and celery. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Yum! This recipe is a keeper. I used light coconut milk and substituted tofu and shiitake mushrooms for the chicken. It was quick to make and delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I had a craving for Tom Ka Gai, which was strange considering I don't care for it too much. Anyway, I made this as directed but added sugar snap peas to give it some color and crunch. If I had mushrooms I would have added those as well, as others suggested. I also made basmati rice to go with it. Only problem with this recipe is that I only wanted one bowl of it, and didn't know what to do with the rest! I ate it though! :) It came out just like the soup at my favorite Thai restaurant! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Tasty and easy to make but not enough coconut flavor for me. I will try this recipe again but try using cream of coconut as recommended by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States