Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe is good, but I am not a big soup fan. I noticed this is almost exactly the same as the "yellow curry" served in westernized Thai restaurants. So I omit the water and serve with rice. Excellent. I have used powered lime and ginger instead of fresh and it's still good. Altering the amount of lime really changes the flavour, so you can play with it depending on what you feel like. I also add uncooked onions in so they cook with the sauce and it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Turned out very much like the restaurant version. I added more chicken, mushrooms, and cayenne than the recipe called for and it worked. Was hesitant on the large amount of fish sauce but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
excellent soup, everyone that I have made this for loves it! I've used light coconut milk to make it a bit healthier it doesn't change the great flavor. I have also substituted shrimp for the chicken, and I actually prefer it that way now. Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was an excellent and quick dish, save a few minor changes... (1) definately use chicken broth instead of water (2) forget about the fish sauce and tumeric. I also added a few think slices of ginger as well as the minced pieces giving more texture, doubled the lime juice and include the pulp, if you can this will nicely balanced the flavor of the coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
For my own reference later, I made the following changes. I added about 2 TBSP of peanut butter, 1/4 c. shredded coconut, 1 small yellow onion, 1 bag California blend veggies, 3/4 c. frozen corn, 1/2 bag fancy green beans, 1 restaurant pack of soy sauce (in place of fish sauce), 2 small spoonfuls of curry paste (in place of cayenne), 1 carton of chicken stock (in place of the water), and juice from 3 small limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
AMAZING! my wife and I were a little afraid to try to make this dish especially since we had company coming over. We followed Dungbeetle's comments and it turned out great! Our guests love it and so did we! We will definitely be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a great basic recipe. I did, however, have to make a few changes to the original: 1. Chicken broth instead of water 2. Used A LOT less coconut milk (about 3/4 of a can) 3. Used only a slice of lime instead of 1/4 cup 4. Added about 1 tbsp of Tom Yum Paste 5. Added about 3 or 4 tbsp of sugar I don't know how this recipe would be good without any lemongrass. The Tom Yum paste has lemongrass incorporated into it along with other ingredients that, in my opinion, are vital to the taste of the soup. After the modifications, the soup came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Just like the restaurants! You can also add a little mushrooms, or carrots to bulk up the soup a little but it's great the way it is! I also like to add in a can of diced tomatoes and a TBSP of curry sometimes. Very easy to prepare and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was delicious! I followed another reviewer's advice and crushed the fresh lemongrass with the flat end of a knife, and added in in large strips that were easily removed. I also added a large sliced carrot and sliced up half of a red bell pepper. Served over jasmine rice and topped with fresh thai basil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I added things like the other cooks. Added 2 tsp sugar, did half lemon half lime juice, used more cilantro and added during cooking, changed water for chicken broth. One change I will make next time is to reduce the fish sauce by 1 tbs. It was really salty and a little too pungent, although still delicious. This is as good a soup as you'd get in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States