Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Not quite the Tom Ka Gai I was expecting but delicious none the less. Poured the soup over white rice and dotted with Sriracha. Great rainy day soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAKRJAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I don't know where I went wrong. I followed the suggestion from one of the reviewers regarding the added rings of lime. Then I added a 3 stems of lemongrass. (perhaps the lemongrass was too old, is that possible) Other than that I followed the recipe as directed. My soup started off on the money. It tasted so good. Then after the 15 minutes of simmer time it went from wonderful to YUCK....very bitter. So bitter in fact that it's inedible. I don't know what I may have done wrong. The recipe seems to be a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I took the advice of a reader and used some chicken broth. I also added mushrooms since I've had it that way in a resturant, it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Fantastic! Didn't use chicken or tumeric and added mushrooms and splenda. So fast and good... UPDATE: oh yeah, forgot the green onions, but didn't miss them and in place of ginger I used a ginger blend that I found in the produce section - pretty sure it's a mixture of fresh chopped ginger and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Good with suggested additions!! Next time we're going to hunt down some lemongrass to put in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made this tonight and it was great! Like some of the reviews stated I used chicken broth instead of water and it turned out well. I added 1 tsp of lemongrass paste. No tumeric and no pepper. Toward the end I also added sliced white onion and some mushrooms with the cilantro...and about 4 TBSP of sugar. It sounds like a lot be it works. And finally.....shrimp instead of chicken! Add it during the last two minutes and it turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I don't understand all the rave reviews for this soup. It is lacking the most basic flavors (such as lemon grass) and incorporates weird flavors like turmeric (which does not go in coconut chicken soup at all and totally ruins it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very yummy, but made a few alterations: added about 4 tbsp of truvia to add some sweetness. Also added an extra tsp of powdered Ginger, as we really like a strong Ginger flavor. Used lite organic coconut milk. Next time I will add more chicken and mushroom as well. Overall a great base recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyLauraLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I really like that this has easily accessible ingredients (although it is missing that truly authentic flavor) and is SO easy to make. We all agreed that we would prefer it without the chicken---it didn't add any great flavor so if I want to add protein to this I will use tofu next time. Really a fun tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Yum! It's been 11 years since I ate Tom Ka Gai at Sailor's Thai in Sydney, Australia. To the best of my memory this is an excellent knock off. I know that they used Kaffir lime leaves and lemon grass- but this tasted so similar. I did add some (2 Tablespoons) of the fresh lemongrass herb blend by Gourmet Garden. I'll be making this again - it is especially quick to put together too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojomama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States