Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
We eat a lot of Thai A LOT!!! OF GREAT THAI!! This is a great fast quick Mock Tom Ka Gai!! Quick Easy no hard to find stuff, I do add Lemon grass and use stock instead of water but other then that its great easy 30 min meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is delicious! The only changes I made were adding one cup of water instead of two, adding 1/4 cup of white wine to the chicken while it was cooking, and using chipotle chile powder instead of cayenne. (The only reason I did that was because we happened to have chipotle around the house, but had no cayenne.) I will definitely make this again, maybe add some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Yum! We consumed the whole pot. Yes, it's a mock version. But even the Asian markets here don't carry the real ingredients so I think this is marvelous. Serve over rice. Add some sugar- a few tablespoons- to bring it all together. Leave out turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
If you have a favorite Thai Restaurant, you'll try to duplicate their dishes. This comes close. I used a can of chicken broth for some of the water, 1 can of creme of coconut, 1 tbs. TomKaGai concentrate and 1 tsp. Thai chili paste.....no cayenne pepper needed with this, nor the ginger root as it's contained in the other two ingredients. You'll need to find a good Oriental market for some of these speciality ingredients. A smidgen of sugar is a good addition: 1/2 tsp. will suffice That fish sauce is just an imperative! Toooooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good - took the advice of another reviewer and added about 2 TBS of raw sugar. Added a half cup of brown rice to the bowl when I served it to round out the meal and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was so excited to try this soup and will make it again sometime with some modification....While lime/lemon flavor is essential, 1/4 cup is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
A-MAZ-ING! I changed a few things based on other reviews. I used left-over chicken from the night before, chicken stock instead of water, I left out the cayenne and turmeric, I added half a can of sweetened shredded coconut to balance fish sauce, culantro instead of cilantro, 1 cups broccoli slaw, and served it over brown rice. It was so good! Pretty fast too, I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was absolutely amazing and simple. I even had to substitute powdered ginger for regular and it was great. I coated the chicken in flour and pan seared them so that they woud retain their moisture and tenderness, also used a can of light coconut milk and reduced the cilantro by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Not quite authentic but my oh my was it tasty!!! Will def make again soon minus the tumeric :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Not quite the Tom Ka Gai I was expecting but delicious none the less. Poured the soup over white rice and dotted with Sriracha. Great rainy day soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAKRJAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States