Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Wonderful. Like other reviewers, I used chicken stock in place of water (increased to 4 cups - didn't want half a carton of stock to go unused - and it was still creamy and tasty!) and skipped the tumeric. -Simmered the stock with with bruised/crushed lemongrass and large pieces of ginger (instead of minced - roughly a 1 1/2 inch cube, sliced thick). Removed before adding chicken and coconut milk. -Doubled the chicken. -I used substantially more cilantro, too (1/3-1/2 cup). I know it's inaccurate to leave a rating when I've made so many changes, but I appreciate the recipe and how easy it is to play with. Guests and hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It's a good soup, but not really Tom Ka Gai - at least not like any that I've had in a restaurant before. I added a few stalks of lemongrass, and it was a very healthy and easy lunch to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I have been cooking all types of food for over twenty years, and this is the winner of all recipes I have ever tried. I can't even express how much I enjoy this recipe. It's a go-to recipe about once a month or so. We often substitute shrimp instead of the chicken and it's just amazing. I can't offer anything other than just cook it exactly as the recipe calls for, and you'll be very happy. The flavor is complex while still remaining delicate. I can't recommend this recipe enough. Amazing! I truly love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Wow, this was VERY good! I was hesitant about making it just seeing the ingredients, but after reading all the rave reviews, I thought I'd give it a shot. I used chicken broth instead of water, like other reviewers did, and also added a lemongrass stalk. I added about 2 tablespoons of sugar, too. I also threw in a bunch of quartered mushrooms, and some black pepper. Tastes just as good as the soup I order from the Thai restaurant down the street that I'm so addicted to. YUM! Has just the right amount of heat, too, which is always good in this household. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Liked this very much, but made additions and changes. Added Cumin and Lemongrass. Combined "Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai" with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PurushaNatasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is the first time I made Tom Ka and I love this recipe! Super easy! I also added 1 can of chicken broth and I had a left over rotisserie lemon pepper chicken that was a perfect seasoned addition to this recipe! Thank you! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is excellent!! The only change I made was that I used soy sauce instead of fish sauce for dietary reasons. I wish it was a little spicier, so I would add more cayenne pepper next time, or maybe some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This turned out wonderful! I am so glad my sister recommended this recipe to me, Sept 2012. I left out the oil, cayenne pepper and turmeric. Things I changed: chicken broth instead of water, 1 Tbsp soy sauce instead of fish sauce, chicken drumsticks cooked in the soup instead of boneless chicken meat, finely chopped crystallized ginger instead of fresh ginger. I think I should add chicken pieces instead of chicken drumsticks, a little more soy sauce and ginger next time. Honey thought the soup was okay, but he would rather have the real thing instead of this version. W thought it was good and K didn't really like it. I ended up eating most of the soup and thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was easy to prepare with ingredients on hand. I did use the trick another reviewer mentioned to add some sugar with the fish sauce. I will try to add lemon grass next time but I usually don't have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States