Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I really liked this recipe over-all. I made some changes that I would advise against though. I pretty much squeezed the juice from three limes into the pot and that was too much!! Also, it seemed a little thin to me and I think that's because I used low-fat coconut milk. If I would have followed the recipe better I think it would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKLisaK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was really good. The second time I made it I did not have limes at hand so I used the sweetened lime juice (the type you get for Margaritas) and it was so much better than the first time. I agree with the previous reviewers that sugar adds flavor to it. I also added mushrooms and a red bell pepper the second time around for more texture. We had it with homemade warm naan and it was so good, especially in such freezing weather!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.H.H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
A good substitute when you just can't get out to a Thai restaurant for the real thing. Be sure to add mushrooms. Works fine without lemongrass and substituting lemon for lime juice. Add a touch of sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Was very good, almost like what I get at the restaurant! I took other's suggestions and deleted the turmeric, and added chicken broth instead of the water. I also added plenty of sliced mushrooms, a teaspoon of thai chili paste, lime zest and some fresh lemon grass. Without the extras i think it would have been a bit bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this to see how it compared to "Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai" also from this site. It was very similar, and the lime juice is essential to this recipe! I liked it, but I think I prefer the other recipe which seems to be more flavorful and includes bok choy for more veggie power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is a favourite staple now in our house. The kids like it too. I also tested using light coconut milk, like another reviewer and didn't notice the difference in taste. My secret ingredient is a little dash of brown sugar to soften the sour of the lime. If you do this the flavors will come out and the dish won't taste one dimesional. I also add a few red pepper flakes and let my husband add more at the table so that it's not too hot for the kids. I may try a little bit of chile garlic paste next time. I also like to cut my chicken while it's partially frozen, so that I can cut it thin like they do in the Thai restaurants. This is an awesome and EASY recipe that comes really close to the original! If you like Thai flavors you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
i love this soup, but this particular recipe is simply average and i'm not tempted to eat the leftovers unfortunately. my favorite thai restaurant is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shermil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe! I have made it twice and will keep on making it. I slightly cut down the fish sauce and turmeric and added fresh kaffir lime leaves and lemongrass. I also used chicken stock instead of water (as other's suggested)and added red pepper near the end of cooking for colour. Delish!!! Thanks so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwicook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
MY husband loved this soup.Although I put in some chicken broth and put less of the water. I also put a tablespoon of ground ginger instead of the minced. But the flavor came out very good. Thumbs up if you like spicy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I don't know how "authentic" this recipe is, but it sure was terrific! It cooked up so fast and has a taste like in a restaurant. I used lite coconut milk. I didn't have fish sauce and couldn't locate my dashi, so I used soy sauce like another cook suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States